Molasses Crinkles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Just ok...soft but the flavor was ok. I think a butter based recipe will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
this is a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pearisburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I wish I had followed others advice and used butter rather than the shortening. The cookies were very dry as I was rolling them and they barely spread at all during baking. They have a very good flavor and I will make these again using butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is the same recipe (almost) that we've had in our family for generations. We double the amount of ginger given and one neat trick is that once you roll your cookie in the sugar, you sprinkle 2 to 3 drops of water on top - it make the cookie crackle on to top when baking. Love these cookies with hot tea in the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debscookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lippy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a great cookie for any time of year! A crisp, melt-in-your-mouth outside hides a soft, chewy center, and they're super flavorful with plenty of spice. I refridgerated my dough overnight as I did other baking after making this dough, and the dough was still easy enough to work with when scooped out with a spoon the next day. Not all of them came out looking perfect, but most of them did, and the slightly melty looking ones are delightfully crispy around the edges. This recipe only made 35 for me at "large-walnut" size. New fave for me, it'll be on my cookie platter every year! Thanks Elisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Cairns, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These are almost the same as the old Betty Crocker recipe I've used for 30+ years except she has you dab the tops of the unbaked cookie with 2-3 drops of water to make the sugar form a crackly glaze on top of the baked cookie. My family begs me to make these all year long! I usually double the batch as they go fast! Note: you can use white sugar instead of the brown in the recipe if you are out of brown. It works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
WONDERFUL! CHEWY and PERFECT. My husband and kids don't like gingersnap cookies, but these cookies, they devoured them! I ate a few also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAKES CORNER by WILILYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the same recipe my grandmother used years and years ago. I don't know if they are a regional type of cookie from PA or not but that is what I always thought. When my my mother made them she used margarine instead of shortening and they were every bit as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDAST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
anyone happen to notice this is the same recipe as the Betty Crocker recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States