Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Yes, it is THAT good. A nice chewy molasses cookie. EXCELLENT flavor. When storing these (and other cookies) store a piece of bread with them to keep them moist, otherwise they dry out like rocks! But these are exactly what you're looking for - easy, idiot-proof, and EXCELLENT. MAKE THEM NOW!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Substituted butter for the margarine and brown sugar for the white. They turned out fabulous. The are the most consistent and uniform cookies I ever make. Tastes like a soft ginger snap. My husband requests them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GAUSSSHAWN
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I have made these cookies about 15 times over the past few years and they always turn out great. I also use butter instead of margarine. After rolling in sugar and placing on baking sheet, I slightly flatten using a smooth bottomed glass. Depending on my mood(and time) I will glaze with a simple home-made frosting. Make sure to watch the timing on these cookies, it is critical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAUSSSHAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
very good, however I took the advice of others and made some changes. Doubled the spices, only 1tsp of baking soda, and used brown sugar. I also dipped all the cookies in powered sugar after they were cooled and it was not only pretty but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I made them exactly except I used only 1 tsp of soda as suggested. Also, since I don't like eggs, I used egg substitute ( good for vegans!!) and they came out perfect. I creamed the sugar in softened, NOT melted, unsalted butter. The dough mixed nicely with the 2 cups of flour. I chilled the dough for a couple of hours, which worked out well. My baking time was about 10 minutes in a gas oven @ 375 F. They cracked beautifully, and the taste was chewy and soft with a slightly crisp top, due to the sugar. I love them and will bring then to my holiday parties. I'm keeping this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is my favorite cookie recipe I have found on this site. The spice is just right, not too subtle, not too strong. They are wonderfully soft. I have, however, made one change. I use one teaspoon baking soda instead of two. I thought the soda taste was too obvious, and when I halved the amount they turned out perfect. I also found that if I just slightly softened the margarine instead of fully melting it I was able to skip the chill time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
very tasty. I Changed a few things. I halfed the soda as suggested. I also used brown sugar and butter instead of margerine and a splash of vanilla (you just can't bake without vanilla). I cooked them for two different times. They're prettier when you cook them till 7 minutes because of they crackle but 6 minutes makes a chewier cookie. Next time I'll double the spices. Thanks for a good recipe! My one year old thinks it's good too!! PS Don't listen to the people who say that batter turns out runny, there's obviously something they missed in it. The dough is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Nice flavor. Maybe it's my oven, but these took less than 8 mins. I started taking them out at about 7 mins and the last sheet of cookies removed were actually burnt. Leave them in a ball when you bake and don't flatten them (like I did on some). They are better thick and chewy, otherwise, they are more crisp like a gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Every year my family has a "bake off" when we get together and bake cookies and give them out to friends for Christmas. But, being the highly competitive people that we are, we make it a contest. For the first time in 7 years of baking, I won with these cookies in 2005. I was thrilled! I followed the recipe exactly, since I'm really not much of a baker. The results aren't in yet for 2006, bu so far I am in the lead with two recipes that I also got from this site. Thanks to Brenda and all the others who post thse wonderful recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I've made these several times--my husband begs for them!! They are his absolute favorite. Be sure to use margarine and not butter. Butter makes them spread and they also come out way too saltly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States