Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These went together really quick and easy. I was happy that after leaving them in the fridge for an hour they were easy to form into balls. They baked up beautifully and tasted great. Not too sweet and not too spicy. I did as many others suggested and omitted a tsp of baking soda. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe has been haunting me for several days (being close to Halloween is part of it, I am sure). I finally gave in and decided to give it a go. First off, I used butter since I adore butter for its health benefits over margarine. I also took the advice of several other cooks and halved the baking soda to 1 tsp. rather than the called for 2tsp.. Everything else was as the recipe called for and these came out AMAZING! I am generally not one to sing the praises of a recipe, but this one is worthy of all the praise it is given by other reviewers. For those who had a "fail" with this recipe, they had to have missed something, were at a higher elevation or had to be attempting to bake with quite a bit of humidity in the air. I had no problem with "runny dough" or spreading on my pan. They came out uniform and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dewey, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Best molasses cookies I have ever had! They never last because they get eaten too fast. I increase the flour to 2 1/2 cups otherwise mine turn out flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made these this afternoon, and let me tell you, they're things of a dream! No bakery has made anything quite so delicious as this! The only thing I recomend, is adding a few dashes of nutmeg, as I always do when cinnamon is involved. MMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Followed directions. Good flavor, flat cookies. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These came out perfect. The only change I made was in using 1 stick butter and 1/2 stick margarine (I couldn't bear using all margarine) and softened these instead of melting before creaming with the sugar, egg and molasses. The cookies baked for exactly 9 minutes and the recipe yielded exactly 30 cookies. They are deliciously crispy on the crackled outside, and nice and soft on the inside. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
i made these using only the cinammon as a spice (i didnt have the others) and a dash of vanilla. i used blackstrap molasses. i also completely skipped the freezer time.... and they still came out amazing! oh and i used butter instead of margerine. when they were done they were a dark, dark brown color, unlike the picture featured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
These are awesome! I reduced the baking soda to 1 tsp. and used brown sugar instead of white in the dough, as others suggested. I also upped the spices by half (1 1/2 t. cin, 3/4 t. cloves and 3/4 t. ginger) and added 1/4 t. white pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This cookie is amazing! I have made it several times as written and the results were fantastic. Just recently I tried the suggested 1/2 c each of brown and white sugar and I think it was a nice boost. I also sprinkled some allspice in addition to the regular spices called for. My husband requested I make them for his office and they got raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsyinked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Use butter, don't listen to the margarine people, they don't know what good cookies are, and couldn't bake their way out of a paper bag. Also use a half cup or more of molasses. When the recipe says the size of a walnut it means a whole walnut: unshelled, about 2-3 TBSP. cheers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States