Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
The good news: these were absolutely delicious and chewy. The bad news: the first batch came out of the oven looking like brown, crinkly crepes. I added about 1/3 cup of flour for the second batch and they looked better. Next time I'll add 1/2 cup flour for the whole batch, and will soften instead of melt the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
They were flat, tasted terrible and stuck to the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I've been making these for the last couple of years, and they are always the first cookies at the table to go!! I've even had requests for these in the middle of summer! The only change I made is to triple the cinnamon and cloves because as Indians we love our spices!! Other than that, they are a perfect cookie!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, its made me very popular!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I have made this recipe twice! It is a family favorite! Soft and chewy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I left out the ginger and will try this again. It was a spicy sugar cookie at best. Texture was nice but I wanted a more cracked top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These cookies are amazing! I had to add a LOT of extra flour to the first batch to get them to roll into balls. After taste testing, I liked them enough to make a second batch right away, but wanted to correct the dough. I realized that if the butter's NOT melted, the ingredients turn into a very workable dough without extra flour. The key is to use SOFTENED butter, NOT melted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
AWESOME, WHOLESOME, OLD-FASHIONED GOODNESS! Yummm!!! I looked at several Molasses cookie recipes and decided on this one mainly because it had more butter than the others I found. The recipe was an absolute joy to make and the cookies turned out perfect!! Molasses cookies are an old-fashioned favorite of my husbands, however,...he said that he had never had them homemade. The first cookie he tried he just couldn't stop ranting how delicious, chewy and spicy they were. The perfect sweetness with the spices. I will keep this recipe forever and pass it to everyone I can. Thank You So Very Much for this recipe. My cookie jar is brimming with these cookies today. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Ann Wiser Brannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlinville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Added- 1/4 cup candied ginger,(instead of ground ginger)added ground nutmeg to spice mix. Substituted- butter for margarine. Added- cinnamon, nutmeg and clove in sugar coating. Butter and powdered sugar icing on top. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rhodes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I grew up on these cookies, turned out to be the exact recipe. Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is an excellent cookie, though I did cut down on the ginger to 1/8 tsp. I used the coarse bakers sugar to top them with. I loved the crackled look when they came out of the oven. Two best things: They tasted fantastic! And the dough kept beautifully in the fridge for several days when covered tightly. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jacketz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States