Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Loved this recipe! So delicious! I used butter since I had no margarine. The first time I tried this recipe, the cookies came out flat and ugly - but still were delicious and addictive. The second time, I used softened butter and whipped a lot of air into the butter before adding the sugar and egg using my Kitchen Aid stand mixer. Then, I also stuck the dough into the freezer for a bit to get it nice and cold before portioning and putting into the oven. Then they turned out beautiful! I will make these every year for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Received a recipe from an acquaintance but was unsure of batter consistency so I researched here.. Found the same recipe so I knew I was in good hands. Only change from this recipe was that I used brown sugar, 1 c. whole wheat flour, 1 c. white flour and based on her recipe, Smart Balance shortening and baked 7 mins. I let it chill overnight. Only negative about the experience is that it is a gooey batter, work fast and don't let batter warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Yummy!! The dough is very soft and if it does not chill, I find that it is a batter. But it is so tasty, chewy and perfect for the fall and winter months! Be sure not to overtake them, and give them extra room because they will spread. When making these, don't be tempted to add more flour, or else they won't be as chewy and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
The only problem I had with these cookies is that they are exactly the same recipe as Ginger cookies...funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Holy cow!!!! These are THE PERFECT molasses cookie. Taste, texture, everything about them is perfect!! I even substituted butter and crisco mixture for margarine, and allspice and nutmeg instead of ginger, and they were still great. Easy and foolproof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Best ever! I wouldn't worry about storing them for long. They won't last long enough to store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I made these cookies last night and absolutely loved them! I used butter instead of margarine because I couldn't find any in the house but they still turned out great! I was a little disappointed that they had to chill for an hour and ended up only leaving them in the fridge for about 45 minutes but it didn't seem to make a difference. These cookies are addictive! I'm definitely making another batch soon and bringing them to work(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
They were very tasty :) I used refrigerated margarine , not melted and brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Made them twice in one week. Came out perfect both times. They were gone within 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States