Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These were FANTASTIC. You can make them vegan too with ONE modification to the recipe. Substitute the 1 egg with 1 TBSP flaxseeds (ground in a spice grinder) and blended with 4 TBSP water and let the mixture sit for about 5-10 min until it slightly gels. Add as you would an egg. (We used Becel's vegan margarine as well). Our family ate the batch of 24 cookies in less than an hour. No kidding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These cookies are delicious! I made a few changes only to make them healthier for our family. I used coconut oil instead of margarine and coconut palm sugar instead of white sugar (for the dough) and 1tsp of baking soda (2 seemed like a lot) and 1tsp of salt (to make up for lack of salt in coconut oil). I then only refrigerated for 30 minutes because coconut oil gets hard when fully cooled. The dough was perfect. The only thing I would do next time is make them smaller. Grape-sized ball rather than walnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I converted this recipe to a gluten free dairy free one with some of the suggested changes and it turned out AHMAZING! I bake by weight, so here is what I used: 117g coconut oil melted, 215g organic brown sugar, 1 egg, 85g molasses, 272 all purpose gluten free flour(mine contains brown rice flour, potato starch, tapioca starch and xanthan gum), 1 tea baking soda, 1 tea salt, 2 tea cinnamon, 3/4 tea ground clove, 3/4 tea ground ginger and 1/2 cup of white sugar. Follow the instructions exactly, baked on parchment lined cookie sheets. These stayed moist and delicious for as many days as they lasted in my house. My 8 year old daughter picked these as her favorite Christmas cookie this year, even when sat next to traditional gluten and dairy filled treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I loved them! I didn't have margarine, so I used salted butter and omitted the salt. I accidentally used 1/2 cup of sugar in the mix and the half the roll it in and they turned out excellent! I'm sure they are great with the whole cup in the mix too and I'll try that next time! I will be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by santiagoc
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Add more chocolate chips!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
These are simply amazing! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made two changes: butter instead of margarine and demerara sugar instead of white sugar for dipping the cookies. Mixed up the recipe and flattened out the cookie before baking, so they might've been a little bigger than they were meant to be. Perfect cookies!! They looked and tasted so good. I just ate 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These molasses cookies are easy to make and hold up well in a cookie jar. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I followed the suggestions of others, brown sugar instead of white, doubled the spices, etc. What I did differently was to roll the cookies in Turbano (Sugar in the Raw) sugar before baking. Gave the cookies a bit of crunch and a bit of sweet. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LudmillaCooks
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made these and followed the recipe from a to z. I NEVER make recipes exactly and boy am I glad I did. i have made hundreds of these over the holidays and am whipping up another batch because I have been asked to make them over and over. They are perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States