Molasses Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These cookies are amazing... My husband would not let me bring any of these cookies in to work because he wanted them all to himself! I had to make another batch and sneak them out of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
These cookies are amazing! I was in a time crunch so I didn't chill the dough for an hour before cooking. They still tasted delicious, just a little on the flat side as I predicted anyways. Not sure why sugar is mentioned twice in the recipe, as no where in the cooking directions does it instruct to use the additional one half cup of sugar. I guess it is a mystery. Anyway my family LOVES this recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very good. Searching for the amazing version that I used to make with my mother as a child, which didn't have the slightly grainy quality this has. I recommend increasing the spices. But overall, a tasty cookie and fun to make with my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I love these! Soft and chewy. I made them with butter instead of margarine. I them made ice cream sandwiches with pumpkin ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These were amazingly good !!! ( Even the first batch that was in a few minutes too long, they got hard but tasted like a gingersnap!). Doubled the amount of spices and added vanilla extract and a little bit of honey. Will definitely make these again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Every year my mother would make molasses cookies and I have taken on the same tradition. For this recipe I tweeked it just a little bit, I used unsalted butter and I creamed that together with 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup light brown sugar (the brown sugar gives it that extra molasses taste) and then I added Hershey's cinnamon chips which gave it that extra bunch of cinnamon. Overall a great cookie! ---cookiecrazy---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hogglea10
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I followed this recipe precisely. The batter was easy to put together. I chilled them for a couple hours but they still weren't firm enough to form, so I let them sit in the fridge overnight. DEFINITELY check your size on these; I tried using my standard cookie scoop that makes an average size cookie normally, but they turned out way too big. Walnut sized is exactly right. But I had the same problem many others did in that they spread like crazy. I did 8 (instead of my usual 12) to a tray and they still stuck to each other. Also I decreased my time to 5 minutes and they still came out thin and crispy and dark. No beautiful cracking or shape. They also stuck to the cookie sheet terribly; I definitely recommend using parchment paper or greasing your tray. (I tried both ways; parchment paper worked better for me.) Also, if you make a larger batch as I did, divide your dough for chilling; about the time I got halfway through, the dough was too soft to form and I had to chill it again. If there's a next time (I usually give recipes a second shot before completely dismissing them!) I'll soften the butter/margarine instead of melting it as suggested and I'll probably add some more flour. I'm a good baker, but these cookies mystified me. I don't know why they didn't turn out like most of the reviews suggest! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great cookie! After reading reviews, i too used room temp butter and 1tsp baking soda. I baked for 7 min and that left the center a bit "gooey". Next time i will bake a bit longer. Topped with powdered sugar these are scrumptious! Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These went together really quick and easy. I was happy that after leaving them in the fridge for an hour they were easy to form into balls. They baked up beautifully and tasted great. Not too sweet and not too spicy. I did as many others suggested and omitted a tsp of baking soda. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe has been haunting me for several days (being close to Halloween is part of it, I am sure). I finally gave in and decided to give it a go. First off, I used butter since I adore butter for its health benefits over margarine. I also took the advice of several other cooks and halved the baking soda to 1 tsp. rather than the called for 2tsp.. Everything else was as the recipe called for and these came out AMAZING! I am generally not one to sing the praises of a recipe, but this one is worthy of all the praise it is given by other reviewers. For those who had a "fail" with this recipe, they had to have missed something, were at a higher elevation or had to be attempting to bake with quite a bit of humidity in the air. I had no problem with "runny dough" or spreading on my pan. They came out uniform and beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dewey, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Melted Snowman Cookies

Turn marshmallows and sugar cookies into amazing melted snowmen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States