Molasses Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Excellent cookies! I frosted them with a butter cream glaze. My husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Neumayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
These are really good, and easy enough for my daughter to make when I wasn't home. I like the fact she wanted to learn how to cook from scratch, I would have preferred her to have me around during the learning process though. It was a very tasty surprise when I got home that day...I didn't know if I should punish her or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Delicious! Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
BEST COOKIES EVER! If you like ginger cookies at least. I did have to dock 1 star though because I needed more spice. So I doubled the ginger and added a few dashes of nutmeg, allspice, cloves and a bit of vanilla. Oh and I'm lazy and have very little counter space so I don't like rolling out cookies, so I rolled the dough into small balls with my hands, dipped them in sugar, dropped them on the cookie sheet and flattened them a bit with the fork (the sugar helps the fork not stick to the dough). Be sure to not over cook them, they are best when a bit under-cooked and still chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I love molasses cookies, and no matter how these turned out, I probably would've loved them regardless. My husband however, is a much tougher customer. I've tried probably 6 or 7 different recipes and he's always hated them... until this one!! I've made 3 batches in 3 days, 1st night I quartered the recipe to make 1 dozen (since I figured it'd just be my son & I eating them), 2nd night made half the recipe (they didn't last through the night), 3rd night, which is tonight, I made the full recipe and they're STILL already almost gone!!! My husband never devours cookies like this, so this is definitely a recipe to save! I followed everything exactly the first night, and they were great. 2nd & 3rd batches I added just a bit of vanilla, which was even better! Sprinkled with sugar fresh out of the oven, and they disappear almost instantly! I'll never use another molasses cookie recipe besides this one again! Thanks SO much!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious! These cookies are great - soft and flavorful. Yum! I am so happy to have a cookie recipe without eggs, as my son is allergic to eggs. These will be his special Christmas cookie, this year and beyond... Both my daughter (6) and son (3) love these cookies. My husband has eaten so many since last night, that I will have to make another batch for Christmas! Thumbs up from my whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Very good. Very moist, flavourful, and not too sweet. The entire family loved them. My first batch was gone before the second came out of the oven. you do need to make sure that you do not over bake them. Under baking is better than over baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These were super easy to make. I had some kid helpers that made my liquid mesaurements off, so I did have to add a bunch more flour to get something I could roll out, but after 20min in the freezer it was just fine. Great tasting and soft and chewy. Not too sweet which was nice, we did add a little piped sugar cookie fosting. I added a touch more ginger than called for. This is a great addition to my holiday cookie selection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
These were YUMMY! But take them out before they are crisp. The flavor comes through better when they are soft. I know some gingerbread-like cookies are often flavorless cardboard. But these were REALLY good. I added 1 tsp vanilla, and next time will increase the brown sugar to a whole cup....for a few people who wanted them sweeter. We used little man cutters. We made buttercream frosting and piped on faces and buttons. It was alot of fun and they are GREAT flavorful cookies! I will be using this recipe again at Christmastime for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAJUST

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Very tasty, but weren't as chewy as i had expected. The thinner ones were more on the hard side, so next time i will make some adjustments to make them chewier. But great, all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States