Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I don't know if it is possible to mess this up! I meant to do 1/2 batch, but only remembered to measure the shortening as half, and the rest normal (to much on my mind!), but they still turned out great! They were beautiful, soft little cookies that would look great in a cookie jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe gets an A for AMAZING! Soft, chewy, and delicious. Perfect with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious! And so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Now, I'll admit, I had never had a molasses cookie before making these. Wow. Just... wow. They are perfectly chewy, just the right amount of spice, and not tooooo overbearingly molasses-y. Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
mine were not nearly as crackly as the picture, but i made them very small with a melon baller. I also rolled in sugar before baking. I think next time I will add a little more spice. Maybe my spices aren't as fresh. A super cookie to have with tea or coffee. And so easy. I cooked on parchment so didn't even have to grease the pans. Very good and easy to store in a plastic container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I gave this recipe four stars only because I myself am not a huge fan of molasses cookies. These ones were the best ones I've had so far, though. I'm fifteen, and my older sister had a party at her house, so I decided to make these to bring. Everyone seemed to like them a lot (especially my mother), so I'll definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
So, I LOVE molasses cookies, and so I tried a recipe (not this one) that said to bake the cookies for 15 mins at 350 degrees. I did this and they were completely burnt. Horrible. I felt so bad about myself after making them thinking that I was the worst cook ever! Anyway, so then I decided to make these cookies... and I listened to one of the reviewers comments that said to use 2 eggs instead of shortening and that the extra egg (instead of using only one) makes them fluffier. I also use light molasses instead of dark/robust. I did NOT like this recipe! The eggs made them MUCH too fluffy (molasses cookies are supposed to be chewy, not fluffy) and the light molasses made them flavorless. I then got a recipe from my friend who makes the BEST molasses cookies EVER and they turned out PERFECTLY. Use shortening (and take the shortening and put it in a sauce pan and melt it completely and then let it cool.. once it cools mix it with the ingredients like the recipe says) and dark molasses. Bake them at 375 for 7 mins. They will be PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
These are great. Perfect with coffee. They are just like the ones I bought at an amish produce store in south central PA. Didn't change a thing except that I had dark molasses on hand instead of light. Came out wonderful. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Easy recipe, soft and chewy cookie, delicious! Thanks for posting! Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca in Oregon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
i really liked these cookies i made them once before and i thought they were very salty so i strongly advise u to split the salt in half and when u bake them slightly push ur pointer finger in the middle of the cookie so that it will spread out and sometimes i like to put a little sprinkles in the middle of that indent for some color (do that before u bake the cookies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States