Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Ginger snaps have always been a favorite in our house, but after making this Molasses cookie, I don't think we will ever go back. The only change i made after the first time baking these was less salt. I decreased it by 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Amazing! I have made these for years now and every time I get huge compliments. Everyone thinks they look and taste like high-end store bought cookies. Usually I omit the cloves. I also substitute 1/2 the sugar for brown sugar and use a generous 1/2 cup of dark molasses, not light. But I've made them directly as-is and they are wonderful too. Overall, a great cookie! Family, co-workers, friends all love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were absolutely delicous. I recently made them for my family. I took some of the other reviews to heart and doubled the spices and used butter instead of shortening. Next time I think I might add a touch of cayanne pepper too. Thanks for sharing this treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cisowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Excellent cookies. I cut the salt in half and used coconut oil (which solidifies) in place of the shortening. I also didn't chill the dough as I was in in a hurry. They turned out perfect at 9 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A little salty, but soooooooooooooo delicious, store extra batter in fridge to make fresh daily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was my first time to make Molasses cookies .. and they came out wonderful. My kids and my hubby loved them.. great recipe.. and very simple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are definitely pretty good... but something is off, and I can't figure out what. I used dark ("robust") molasses and light brown sugar, since that was what I had... and they almost taste... too molasses-y? So, in retrospect, I probably should have used light molasses, and perhaps increased the cinnamon, for a more mainstream flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I am not a fan of molasses so I didn't really care for these. I will give them 5 stars based on the reaction I got from the friends and family I gave them to. I followed the recipe exactly with the except I reduced the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I added the 2 eggs and reduced the salt, used butter instead of shortening, doubled the recipe and heaped my spices and these cookies were AHHH-MAZING! Our oven bakes/cooks slightly hotter so I reduced the heat to 325 and cooked for 14 min and they are perfectly cracked and puffy and chewy at the same time!!! 5 stars all around. I may even double the spices next time- I like mine a little more spicy!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiki2197

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These cookies were really good. I like how spicy they were. I rolled my first batch in sugar but because I have crappy pans the sugar burned a little bit. I didn't roll the other batches in sugar and they seemed to come out a little better. I recommend Silpat matt or parchment paper. But they are very tasty indeed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States