Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good, soft molasses cookies when baked for 8 minutes in my oven. I did add more ginger and 1/2 teaspoon allspice. The dough was VERY soft and these really didn't puff up much at all, though they did wind up with the cracks somehow. Next time, I think I'll add an extra egg and a bit more flour. UPDATE: I added the extra egg and just 1/4 cup more flour. Wound up with rounded cookies, softer and more cake-like than chewy. My husband likes 'em. I also used 1-1/2 T ginger and added 1/2 t allspice to the mix, and used blackstrap molasses. They didn't come out very sweet at all, but a nice munch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Love these cookies, I follow the recipe without modifications and they always turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The best molasses cookies I've made yet. They don't last long in this house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ausy711

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Brasher Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Delightful! Family favorite. They need an extra 3+ minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I loved these! I ended up unintentionally altering part of it. I didn't have light molasses, and didn't have shortening. instead I used regular molasses, and butter (since I used butter, I also cut out the salt) my Husband found the dough pretty sweet, so I skipped rolling them in sugar, and just dusted with powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I tried these at Christmas last year, using dark brown sugar and dark molasses (that was what I had on hand). I made only a small batch, thinking that they would be too strong for the kids. WRONG! They were devoured first. Will make more this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My husband loved these cookies, but said his grandma still haves them better! ( I really do not know how you could beat a tiny 96 year old woman though...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleGEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is by far my most favorite recipe. It tastes like the cookies that you find at Starbucks. I followed the variations mentioned before by substituting shortening for 1/2 cup butter, 1 egg for 2 and they turned out so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Thanks These turned out perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States