Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Yum! Perfect to satisfy my craving of molasses cookies since having one at a local bakery this morning, and it tasted just as good! I did use 1/2 cup butter instead of 3/4 cup shortening which I didn't have but don't like any way, 2 eggs instead of 1 to keep the soft texture, 1/2 tsp. of salt instead of the full tsp. as previously recommended, and baked them for 8 minutes on an air bake cookie sheet and they were perfectly soft and chewy - ten minutes after they came out not a single one is left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
My family and I love these cookies! But each time, we've found them too salty, so I'd strongly recommend cutting the salt in half. Also, be careful not to overbake as they turn hard. Underbake them just slightly. As they cool, they will harden slightly and still be nice 'n' soft 'n' chewy. A lovely cookie apart from the excessive salt (which can be corrected).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
If you've ever had one of Starbuck's moist molasses cookies to compliment your mocha, this recipe is as close as you're going to get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Absolutely Divine. I will never use a different recipe for this particular cookie. I used dark molasses. Had to make a DOUBLE batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I gave this a 4 only because I never have made molasses cookies before and have nothing to compare it to. This was a very easy recipe and will most likely use it again. I did cut the salt down to half a tsp but will not the next time I think I could have used the whole amount and it would not have been too salty. If this is your first time making these don't attempt to flatten them down when they are baking they will flatten as they cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
So far these have been the best I've made so far. I used butter instead of the shortening and I accidentally left out the salt. Very pleased with the out come though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great cookie! I also halved the salt and ended up using dark brown sugar as i bought that by mistake...definitely a mistake worth making! Gave it a bit deeper molasses flavor. These keep very well and are still soft and chewy several days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is the best cookie I have ever tasted in my life and I have ate a lot of cookies. I only had about 1/3 of a cup of molasses so I had to add honey to it to make up the difference. After I rolled them into balls I rolled them in some "RAW" sugar and frozen them. WOW! I will make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Greene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
incredibly simple recipe to use...added my own personal touches with cinnamon frosting...they were gone in a nanosecond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen-soontobebaked

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2000
If you don't overcook these, they're soft and delicious! And make sure to roll them in sugar; it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaseblossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States