Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These are very very good. Very quick and easy to make. I didn't bother to chill as they were easy to handle right away. The only change was using less salt as recommended. This recipe will be used over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
These cookies really are delicious and soft and practically perfect in every way. Except that they are extremely SALTY! I would strongly recommend that you reduce the salt to 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I made this for a group of friends last night and received mixed reviews. Most people thought it was good but that I should keep looking for a better recipes. Bear in mind that I didn't have any brown sugar and had to substitute white sugar instead, however, I was using dark molasses. I'm going to keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
My family loved these cookies. My son-in-law thought I bought them at a local bakery! I did make a few changes: I used 3/4 cup unsalted, softened butter, Blackstrap molasses for stronger flavor and reduced salt to 1/2 t. I used dark brown sugar. I added a little more of the spices as well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good, chewy cookies. I like to use butter-flavored shortening. These stay soft for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
if you like molasses you will really like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great cookie! I also halved the salt and ended up using dark brown sugar as i bought that by mistake...definitely a mistake worth making! Gave it a bit deeper molasses flavor. These keep very well and are still soft and chewy several days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is the best cookie I have ever tasted in my life and I have ate a lot of cookies. I only had about 1/3 of a cup of molasses so I had to add honey to it to make up the difference. After I rolled them into balls I rolled them in some "RAW" sugar and frozen them. WOW! I will make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Greene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
As a result of all the other complaints of saltiness in the reviews, I opted to cut the salt to 1/2 a tsp. Also the bake time was not sufficient. They weren't soft and chewy after 11 mins, they were still raw in the middle. So, the second batch we made the balls no bigger than melon-baller size and increased bake time to 12-14 mins. They turned out a bit crunchier and the shape was perfectly round. Like they were factory made. The taste was outta this world. A HUGE hit with my kids and the neighbors kids and my niece who was visiting. I've even had to translate this recipe into Arabic for my neighbors who also gave it 2 thumbs up! (We live in Egypt!) EXCELLENT recipe. --Umkatiba Alexandria,Egypt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMKATIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Delicious. Baked as directed except used white whole wheat floud instead of all-purpose....still came out great! Very soft and chewy. Also added a bit more sugar on top after they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States