Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
My family loved these cookies. My son-in-law thought I bought them at a local bakery! I did make a few changes: I used 3/4 cup unsalted, softened butter, Blackstrap molasses for stronger flavor and reduced salt to 1/2 t. I used dark brown sugar. I added a little more of the spices as well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Very good, chewy cookies. I like to use butter-flavored shortening. These stay soft for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
if you like molasses you will really like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Great cookie! I also halved the salt and ended up using dark brown sugar as i bought that by mistake...definitely a mistake worth making! Gave it a bit deeper molasses flavor. These keep very well and are still soft and chewy several days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is the best cookie I have ever tasted in my life and I have ate a lot of cookies. I only had about 1/3 of a cup of molasses so I had to add honey to it to make up the difference. After I rolled them into balls I rolled them in some "RAW" sugar and frozen them. WOW! I will make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Greene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
As a result of all the other complaints of saltiness in the reviews, I opted to cut the salt to 1/2 a tsp. Also the bake time was not sufficient. They weren't soft and chewy after 11 mins, they were still raw in the middle. So, the second batch we made the balls no bigger than melon-baller size and increased bake time to 12-14 mins. They turned out a bit crunchier and the shape was perfectly round. Like they were factory made. The taste was outta this world. A HUGE hit with my kids and the neighbors kids and my niece who was visiting. I've even had to translate this recipe into Arabic for my neighbors who also gave it 2 thumbs up! (We live in Egypt!) EXCELLENT recipe. --Umkatiba Alexandria,Egypt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMKATIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Delicious. Baked as directed except used white whole wheat floud instead of all-purpose....still came out great! Very soft and chewy. Also added a bit more sugar on top after they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Do not make this recipe! I was not happy with the results. It needs at least a cup of molasses and an addition cup of sugar if I was even going to attempt eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I used the dark molasses for a richer flavor but everything else the same as in the recipe. They turned out chewy and absoloutley delicious. Even my mother who is not fond of Molasses cookies, couldn't keep her fingers out of the cookie jar! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
A real keeper. Can't wait to make them at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States