Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made this exactly as the recipe is written,,,,too salty for me. I am going to give the recipe another try with less salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very easy. Excellent taste. Took a little longer to bake than time given. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I found these cookies too sweet and I dont really care with molasses flavour. It's a bit too strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I substituted salted butter for the shortening, and used dark molasses instead of the light. I eliminated the salt entirely, as the butter had plenty. They are a wonderful ginger bread-like cookie.Great with hot tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jordan, New York, USA
Living In: Marblehead, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These were great!! I usually don't like spicey type cookies, but these were excellent and had hubby and kids begging for more! I didn't chill the dough, it was easy to handle, and they turned out fine. Using butter flavored shortening adds flavour. I disagree with the reviewers that complained the cookies were too salty, for us the salt complimented the cookie's sweetness and spices. A keeper recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have looked forever for this molasses cookie! Spicy, chewy, but crisp on outside~ yum! I made some changes though: creamed 1/2 c. Smart balance spread, melted, 3/4 c brown sugar, molasses, 1-2 tsp. Vanilla, 2 tbls. light vanilla yogurt-- dry ingredients- used 1/2 tsp. salt- scant 2 1/2 cups organic unbleached flour-- combine and at the end add in 2 tbls. of boiling water, blend in w/beaters- chill dough, scoop, sugar-coat & baked for 9-10 min. THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These are very very good. Very quick and easy to make. I didn't bother to chill as they were easy to handle right away. The only change was using less salt as recommended. This recipe will be used over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
These cookies really are delicious and soft and practically perfect in every way. Except that they are extremely SALTY! I would strongly recommend that you reduce the salt to 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I made this for a group of friends last night and received mixed reviews. Most people thought it was good but that I should keep looking for a better recipes. Bear in mind that I didn't have any brown sugar and had to substitute white sugar instead, however, I was using dark molasses. I'm going to keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
My family loved these cookies. My son-in-law thought I bought them at a local bakery! I did make a few changes: I used 3/4 cup unsalted, softened butter, Blackstrap molasses for stronger flavor and reduced salt to 1/2 t. I used dark brown sugar. I added a little more of the spices as well. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States