Molasses Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are great cookies. Following all the suggestions: I used butter (3/4 c), added an egg, and halved the salt. The aftertaste Pchotrani is talking about is the cloves. I tasted it too. Maybe next time I'll try allspice or nutmeg (nutmeg doesn't smell right in combination with the cinnamon and ginger but I'll see what I get). I checked other molasses cookies and the spice ranged from these three, Cin. Gin. and Nut, Cin. Gin. and All, and even Cin. Gin. Cream of Tartar... We'll see... I baked them 9 1/2 minutes and they are perfect! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I subbed butter for the shortening and they worked fine. Taste was very good for a cookie that doesn't include chocolate. Very easy to make; I stuck the dough in the freezer for about 5 minutes rather than 1-2h in the fridge & it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
great flavor. used butter instead of shortening. they came out a little flat when I made them bite size. Tried again another day and used the ice cream scoop. They were perfect! Big and crackled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
great cookies!!!!! I also halved the salt like someone else suggested and used 1/2C butter instead of 3/4C shortening. and I used 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Deeeee-licious! I used butter instead of shortening, two eggs and a half t of salt. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ming
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These were delicious! We followed the recipe precisely and are delighted with the results. Will make many more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
They look gorgeous. But i hate to rate these so low. I accidently added the remaining sugar to the dough, which I am thankful I did in the end result because these cookies have a spicy kick. I baked 9 rolled in sugar and 9 with sugar sprinkled on top. The sugar helps in toning down the flavor. They taste great when you put them in your mouth but leaves a strange after taste (must be the ginger). Gets 5 stars for being easy to make but 3 for flavor. Might make again with less salt and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pchotrani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I don't know if it is possible to mess this up! I meant to do 1/2 batch, but only remembered to measure the shortening as half, and the rest normal (to much on my mind!), but they still turned out great! They were beautiful, soft little cookies that would look great in a cookie jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe gets an A for AMAZING! Soft, chewy, and delicious. Perfect with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Delicious! And so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States