Molasses Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
This was a great cake. My kids loved it as so did my hubby. What a great smell this gives the home as it's baking. Wonderful in every way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This cake is absolutely delicious! The aroma is almost...almost...as good as the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Steer clear of this cake if you value your tastebuds!!! I don't know what the other reviewers were thinking - it was honestly disgusting. It looked and smelled wonderful, the texture was ok, but it tasted of crude molasses! ive been baking cakes for many years and there is no doubt i followed the recipe correctly - perhaps if you halved the quantity of mollases you'd have a chance but as it was of the 10 people that tried my cake not one could even finish a small slice out of politeness - it was inedible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
My grandmother used to make a cake very much like this when I was growing up. It is a very moist and not overly sweet cake. I substituted hot water for the coffee and it it came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Excellent! Made this recipe because of a special request from my Dad. He asked me to make a molasses cake and I found this one. Glad I did, he loved it! Don't mind the bad review here, this cake was dabomb! I used a glass 9" square pan-greased, and it took my cake about 15 min. more in bake time than the 30 min listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
After reading the reviews of this recipe, I didn't know what to think. Nevertheless, I made it and loved it! I don't know why you would make a molasses cake if you didn't like molasses, but even my friends that weren't big fans of the stuff loved the cake. I did cut the molasses by about a quarter cup and frosted it with a black walnut buttercream frosting. I found the texture and flavor to be well worth five stars. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
this was great. i probably used little bit more flour or little less coffee. but this recipe was great. the scent of the cake- awesomely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is for sure a health freaks recipe. I use 100% whole wheat and of course brown sugar. This is my favorite! Obviously, if you are not fond of molasses....Don't try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I love this cake and often eat it plain with my coffee in the morning. But when I want a special dessert I add a peanut butter icing on the top -- put the icing on while it is still warm out of the oven. Magnificant in taste and so original. Everyone I serve it to absolutely loves it ... try it with the peanut butter icing - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this yesterday. It turned out great. The whole family liked it. I used water, not coffee. I don't see anything wrong with this recipe, it deserives 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States