Molasses Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Wonderful cake but you have to like molasses. Did cut sugar in half (molasses is sweet enough). From reading the ingredients it is very apparent it is for molasses lovers only and if you want to cut back on the molasses flavor subsitute corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I think this is my new favorite dessert! I topped mine with a bit of cool whip and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnharvest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
We just made the cake and it was awesomely good!!!!! :) I recomed anyone to try it it's delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddy111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is just what I've been looking for! My grandmother and her mother made these for me as a child and they were absolutely delicious. Unfortunately, they passed away before anyone got the recipe. This is soooo close to theirs that it brings back very fond childhood memories. I've made this recipe a few times as is but I now add a bit more molasses to mine (approximately 1/4 c) as the coffee seems to actually weaken the flavor IMHO. All in all, it is a fabulous cake, great with coffee or milk or just plain water. And luckily, I can keep this tradition going in my family. Thanks Robin!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I made this yesterday. It turned out great. The whole family liked it. I used water, not coffee. I don't see anything wrong with this recipe, it deserives 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I love this cake and often eat it plain with my coffee in the morning. But when I want a special dessert I add a peanut butter icing on the top -- put the icing on while it is still warm out of the oven. Magnificant in taste and so original. Everyone I serve it to absolutely loves it ... try it with the peanut butter icing - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is for sure a health freaks recipe. I use 100% whole wheat and of course brown sugar. This is my favorite! Obviously, if you are not fond of molasses....Don't try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
this was great. i probably used little bit more flour or little less coffee. but this recipe was great. the scent of the cake- awesomely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
After reading the reviews of this recipe, I didn't know what to think. Nevertheless, I made it and loved it! I don't know why you would make a molasses cake if you didn't like molasses, but even my friends that weren't big fans of the stuff loved the cake. I did cut the molasses by about a quarter cup and frosted it with a black walnut buttercream frosting. I found the texture and flavor to be well worth five stars. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Excellent! Made this recipe because of a special request from my Dad. He asked me to make a molasses cake and I found this one. Glad I did, he loved it! Don't mind the bad review here, this cake was dabomb! I used a glass 9" square pan-greased, and it took my cake about 15 min. more in bake time than the 30 min listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States