Molasses Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I made this cake today and had to write a review, who ever doesn't like this cake must not like molasses, I loved it! The only change I made was that I used hot water instead of coffee. I used a 9x9 cake pan and had to add 15 minutes to the bake time. I wish the recipes would specify what size pan to use. I will be making this cake again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Kass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Absolute best!!!! Way above gingerbread, more complex and rich, it's memorable! I pour a glaze of orange or lemon juice, icing sugar and melted butter when the cake is right out of the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsylili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I like this cake. I misread the recipe and added the coffee before the flour mixture and it still came out fine. Tender with a good crumb. It is kind of like gingerbread. I used an organic unsulphered molasses and the flavor is great. I wonder if the people who were unhappy with thier results used a strong molasses. Do not use blackstrap molasses here. I will try the recipe again and omit the spices for a simpler molasses flavor and perhaps serve it with chocolate icecream. Molasses and chocolate are surprisingly good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Smelled wonderful while baking. Rose beautifully. Disappointed with loose texture and despite being well wrapped, it was dry and crumbly next day. I suspect the lack of butter is the cause.It may have brought out the flavor as well. We tried dressing it up with cream and raspberry jam to no avail. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I only registered on this site to say THANK YOU ROBIN for this WONDERFUL recipe!!!! I halved the ingredients and tweaked the recipe somewhat, and put a layer of whipped cream inside, sweetened with molasses sugar... It was scrumptious!!! Here are the changes: - used only wholemeal flour (sifting it and returned about half the husks to the mixture), - butter instead of shortening - no molasses but replaced the sugar with Tate and Lyle molasses sugar using 1/3 (compressed) cup, slightly more than what the recipe asks for - no ground cloves/ginger - added 8 walnut halves, finely chopped (about 1/4 cup) - hot milk instead of coffee I accidentally added 1 full cup of milk (instead of half as I halved the mixture), but I added more baking powder and cooked at a slightly higher temperature and for slightly longer. The texture, the moistness, the sweetness - everything was simply perfect!! Thanks again for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This is a wonderful molasses cake, very moist. I even used egg replacer as my son is allergic to eggs and it still turned out great. The only reason I can think of for the bad review is they used cooking molasses. I tried the cooking molasses once and never again. The taste was awful. From then on, I've always used fancy molasses. I've never gone wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
If you like molasses you will LOVE this cake! AWESOME cake! Perfect! Made as recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious! Perfect Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Wonderful cake but you have to like molasses. Did cut sugar in half (molasses is sweet enough). From reading the ingredients it is very apparent it is for molasses lovers only and if you want to cut back on the molasses flavor subsitute corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I think this is my new favorite dessert! I topped mine with a bit of cool whip and it was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnharvest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States