Molasses Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was delicious and took almost no effort. I used frozen chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
This was very easy and tasty, produced an impressive brown glaze with an exotic flavour. I made it simpler by not cutting the whole chicken into pieces, just cutting it down the breastbone and flattening it out in my dish 'butterfly' style. I mixed all the ingredients to be added in a jar and poured them straight on, brushing the sauce over the chicken a couple of times whilst cooking. I also took the advice of another reviewer and exchanged 1 Tbsp of molasses for honey. Took only a few minutes to prepare and my family were very impressed with the appearance and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I made this chicken last night for dinner - my husband and thought it was fantastic! I used 4 chicken thighs with the skin on. I followed the recipe as written (but used grainy Dijon mustard) and when it was time to add the sauce, I used a turkey baster and slid some of the sauce under the skin of each thigh. Of course we didn't eat the skin but it really kept the chicken juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Following the advice of other reviews, I tried this on boneless pork chops first and it was really good. The leftover sauce in the baking dish was excellent served with the sliced chops. Even good cold the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Great recipe and blending of flavors. I have tried this one a few times and experimented a few times. I agree that this one was intended for pork. I like this little add on I used - 2 T. good bourbon and 1 T finely minced pecans along with a pinch of high quality cayenne pepper. Also, I sub'd a T of honey for one of the T's of molasses. You can't go wrong with the original recipe and this one is fun to play with and find new possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was an interesting combination. I used bone in skinless chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Made this for dinner last night, it was very good and flavorful. I just used boneless, skinless chicken breast and it turned out wonderful. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
My family loves it! Great for using up those things that seem to sit in the cabinet forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Can I rate this if I used pork? It was great! I seared the pork chops before baking and only had 1.5 lbs., so there was extra sauce to serve with rice. The only thing I'd eliminate would be the salt. I don't think it's needed with the mustard. Otherwise, this is definitely a "keeper". Maybe sometime I'll try it with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States