Mojo Roast Chicken (Pollo Asado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Really good marinade. I had a busy day planned so I threw all of this in the crockpot without ever marinating it and cooked it on low all day. It was very flavorful. I just shredded up the meat to serve with tortillas and toppings. The only thing I might do a little differently is to put the shredded meat on a baking pan and crisp it up in the oven just a little. It was great this way but I enjoy carnitas this way. I used bonelss chicken thighs (what we had) and avocado oil instead of evoo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is the little black dress of chicken marinades -- suitable for the oven or the grill. The first time I made this, I roasted a butterflied chicken using a short marinade time (maybe 4 hours). Fantastic flavor with a crispy skin. The second time I used this recipe, I cut the oil amount by half, used the citrus zest and marinated skinless bone-in chicken thighs overnight. Grilling low and slow produced *the* most flavorful grilled chicky. This has quickly become a favorite - thanks karmicflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Used chicken breasts, cut into hunks for kabobs. Marinated 4-6 hours then grilled on my grill pan indoors. Chicken was juicy and good, but I wasn't wow'd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I liked this very much! I'm falling in love with Cuban food, at least the dishes on this site! Made as written, except did not heat garlic & spices in olive oil first, and I am sure it would have been even more tasty if I had. Even with unheated oil it was 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was not very impressed with the flavor of this chicken. It didn't really take the spices into the meat - if I were to make it again I would double or triple the amount of seasonings in the marinade. It did come out very moist and juicy (375 degrees for 50 minutes, rested for 10). I'd recommend using a boiler pan to separate the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Excellent- I have found my favorite spanish style bbq chicken - what is not to like? Great on the grill - I haven't put it in the oven and not sure if I will. I don't recommend any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Family ate this up. Great combination of flavors. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Sooo GOOD!! My fiance and 8 year old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The last night I spent in Havana I went to a restaurant and had chicken and rice/black beans. This chicken is exactly like the chicken that they served and it was excellent. The only thing I changed was to add a tablespoon of lemon juice to the marinade. I served it with black beans and it was amazing!!! Just like I was back in Havana (complete with salsa music and a mojito!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Fantastic!! I used Spanish Bitter Orange (you can find that in the Spanish section of your grocery store) instead of orange juice. I went easy on the olive oil and used organic chicken (normally they are less fatty). Make sure you trim all extra fat from the skin (as much as you can) otherwise, it’ll be very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States