Mojo Roast Chicken (Pollo Asado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I liked this very much! I'm falling in love with Cuban food, at least the dishes on this site! Made as written, except did not heat garlic & spices in olive oil first, and I am sure it would have been even more tasty if I had. Even with unheated oil it was 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I was not very impressed with the flavor of this chicken. It didn't really take the spices into the meat - if I were to make it again I would double or triple the amount of seasonings in the marinade. It did come out very moist and juicy (375 degrees for 50 minutes, rested for 10). I'd recommend using a boiler pan to separate the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Excellent- I have found my favorite spanish style bbq chicken - what is not to like? Great on the grill - I haven't put it in the oven and not sure if I will. I don't recommend any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Family ate this up. Great combination of flavors. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Sooo GOOD!! My fiance and 8 year old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
The last night I spent in Havana I went to a restaurant and had chicken and rice/black beans. This chicken is exactly like the chicken that they served and it was excellent. The only thing I changed was to add a tablespoon of lemon juice to the marinade. I served it with black beans and it was amazing!!! Just like I was back in Havana (complete with salsa music and a mojito!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Fantastic!! I used Spanish Bitter Orange (you can find that in the Spanish section of your grocery store) instead of orange juice. I went easy on the olive oil and used organic chicken (normally they are less fatty). Make sure you trim all extra fat from the skin (as much as you can) otherwise, it’ll be very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe was wonderful. I didn't have any orange juice so I substituted Passion Fruit Juice. I was only able to marinate for about an hour, and it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Delicious recipe. I doubled the marinade since I placed the chicken whole in a large bowl in the fridge. I ran short on olive oil, so I used 1/2 cup olive oil and 1/2 cup canola oil. Almost the entire chicken was covered, although half way through I turned the chicken. I marinaded the chicken for a total of 10 hours. Before roasting the bird (whole) I sprinkled the skin with a little paprika. I followed the instructions on this site for roasting a chicken using the high heat method. I highly recommend this as it results in a nice crispy skin. I'll be making this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a great Marinade. I know the instructions sound a bit odd, but make it as directed and you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken

See how to make a quick, no-fuss roast chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States