Mojo Grilling Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I hate to be the first naysayer, but I really didn't like this. IMHO Goya's Mojo Criollo marinade tastes much better, without all the trouble. I followed the recipe exactly. While I like how the freshness of the fruit juices came through, the balance of spices is off. I'm not sure which ones, maybe the cilantro? I gave 2 stars for the freshness factor, and because my husband said he liked it, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Excellent. I made a few minor changes: skipped the lemon pepper seasoning and then I heated marinade on the stove to really bring the flavors together. I added a handful of fresh chopped cilantro after it cooled and marinated overnight. definitely a keeper. Many compliments at our holiday BBQ. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I didn't have any orange juice, however I did have one very ripe tangerine so I juiced it along with 2 limes...replaced the hot sauce with crushed red pepper flakes and added a pinch of table sugar b/c I really like the way marinades with sugar in them caramelize on the grill. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic! Used it on steak tonite, but can't wait to try on fish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Delicious! Marinated 2 nice turkey tenderloins for 24 hours and grilled tonight. Changed orange juice to 1/4 c and olive oil to 1/4c. Other than a change in those measurements I also used dried cilantro instead of fresh since I had none on hand. Kept all other ingredients the same. Very flavorful and fresh. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I think this recipe was pretty good; it just needed more kick. I marinated a whole chicken 24 hours and baked 350 for an hour and a half (tented with foil), then removed foil and baked 450 for 30 minutes. I also poured a small amount of marinade over the bird, cooking breast side down. Most tender chicken - I had no trouble cutting into pieces. I may use this recipe again, but I will definitely up the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
ridiculously good on a flank steak. just be sure to score the meat and leave in fridge over night at very least. i've had meals both with and without the cilantro, and its better with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
YUMMY! I followed the directions and amounts exactly (except for the lemon pepper seasoning because I did not have any) and this was so tasty. A great marinade for grilled chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countrypumpkin10
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I recently went to a Cuban restaurant in NC and it was the first time I ever had Cuban food. I used this recipe to try to recreate the wonderful Mojo Shrimp I had there. It was delicious. I reserved a little bit of the mojo to pour over the dish. Marinate some shrimp, cook in a skillet, and serve with black beans and rice! Deeeelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
We all loved this marinade! I used it on chicken legs. I ended up letting it marinade for 2 days (which worried me a little) because plans came up at the last minute and I had to wait an extra day to make them. My mom joined me the next night and we baked the chicken legs in the oven for about 45 minutes and everyone including the kids enjoyed them. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very good marinade. Followed the recipe exactly for the garlic, citrus juices, and cumin and oregano, but I omitted the cilantro (don't like it) and the lemon pepper (didn't have any but really didn't feel it needed it). I also left the onion in chunks and added to the marinade along with a small pork loin roast. I marinated overnight and then grilled until until the he onions were browned (then removed from grill) and the pork was an internal temp of 170. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fajita Marinade I

See how to make a 5-star marinade for fabulous steak fajitas.

Top 10 Grilling Tips

Get the top tips for working the grill, any time of year.

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States