Mojo French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
These were ok, not as much flavor as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
These are very good! After reading the first review, I decided to double all of the spices (except the cayenne), and I also added in some onion and garlic powders. These baked up perfectly in the time specified, but I felt that they still needed more salt (I think the addition of the salt would've enhanced the flavors even more). All in all this was a fun new way to serve fries and one that I will be making again (w/ more salt, lol)! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Instead of plain salt, I used Johnny's Seasoning Salt (which I also increased quite a bit) and I took Christine's suggestion and added a teaspoon each of onion/garlic powder. I have not had decent jo-jo potatoes since I moved to the East from the Northwest--these remind me of home. Everyone loved them. I served them with a homemade ranch and meatball subs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Double all spices, add 1 teaspoon each: garlic, onion powder, seasoned salt and instead of drizzling with oil, SPRAY with vegetable oil spray until no white shows. nobody likes powdery fries... then perfect. thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fun, new-to-me way to make oven fries! I cut into fairly think wedges and the crispy coating really adhered well. I cooked at a lower temp but preheated the oil in my jelly roll pan while I was breading the potatoes. Used red potatoes because they were starting to sprout, I think regular Idado would be more suitable but it's nice to know that red or even Yukon could be used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I love these kind of fries--reminds me of home--but they are such a pain, I rarely make them. These are very tasty, but yeah, still a bit of a pain. I did these in batches and played around with the oil part to find out what worked best. I tried spraying with the spray oil (you really do have to coat) and drizzling with oil. these really need to be completely covered in oil, so what seems to work best for me is drizzling, but then flipping and moving around the oil until completely covered. A pain, but better than frying and turns out delicious. I did double the spices and use seasoned salt; glad I did. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Simple and delicious. I pretty much added my own seasonings but I used the cooking technique provided. Everyone, especially my 6 year old cousin, enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodPlease!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I doubled everything except the flour which I cut in half. I also added four tablespoons of parmesean cheese, that got it! Great starting point though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck Blades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alizah
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I amped up the spices but not the flour. Delicious will be making these again. I tasted a tiny bit of the flour before dredging to ensure the right degree of flavor. I thought it definitely needed more salt. A real must-try, do yourself a favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I didn't care for these fries. The texture wasn't appealing to me. I tasted a lot of flour. I tried to make them exactly as the recipe is written. However, I did make some in the oven and I fried the others. The fried ones were much better but of course the coating all came off. The flavor would've been nice if the coating didn't have the dry flour texture or would've stayed on during frying. I did coat them with oil as recommended by one reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States