Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This mojito recipe was so-so, but the worst thing you can do is trying to change it to simpilfy it. Basically to make it more like the one at your favorite restaurant is to really muddle (with a back of a spoon, or better a wooden muddler) at least 10 sprigs of mint per drink as well as 3 wedges of lime, 3 tbl. of simple sugar (a 2-1 mixture of sugar and water boiled and cooled-- it's easy and worth it!) Muddle well then add crushed ice to top fill with white rum (about 3 0z) but leave room to add a splash of soda water. Shake or stir and serve! Please do Not use sprite, it will not be the same. But using regular sugar is fine, just cut the amount in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYJANE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This is now my Mojito. You can have some too. You're welcome. Useful tip--because there should be one--this tastes best when served very cold. Lukewarm Mojito bad. Ice cold Mojito good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I had one of these at a restaurant last summer that is supposed to be famous for their mojitos and LOVED it! They must be famous because they do something completely different, because I followed this recipe exactly and it tasted nothing like the refreshing drink I had experienced. These were very boring. After working a bit on doctoring them up (more sugar, more mint) we gave up and made some margs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This recipe is good in that it is simple. As a bartender I am hyper-critical and I see lots of people over do it on the ingredients. Personally, I use 6 mint leaves to muddle. I think it's the minty flavor that makes this drink so unique and refreshing. If you're getting a bitter flavor, you're mashing the rind of the lime too much. You want to release the juices, but not the oil from the rind. That's where the bitterness comes from. This recipe has the perfect amount of lime if you're juicing it right:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
it works...i should have bruised the mint as recommended instread of slicing it..b/c then it floats through the ice to the top and makes it difficult to drink.. also good to substitute rum with sake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Muddling is the key to a good Mojito. You should put about 3 or 4 sprigs of mint and 3 lime wedges. You really have to put some muscle behind it because you're trying to extract as many of the natural oils from the lime as possible. I have never had good luck with sugar in these. A simple syrup (1 part sugar, 2 parts water) is the best way to go. Your final drink should be composed of 1/3 rum, 1/3 simple syrup and 1/3 club soda. Using a smaller glass is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This drink replacews A Gin and tonic for that afternoon Hot day drink. Plus it actually goes good with food, like a fresca but better. My new cool favorite drink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Do not use confectioners' sugar. Didn't dissolve well and left a nasty cornstarch taste in the drink. Will try this one again using simple syrup (and more sugar than the recipe calls for). Will probably also strain most of the mint out - not sure if I liked drinking a salad! but love the fresh mint and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This is such a good drink. I've used brown sugar instead of confectioner's. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Great drink and very pretty in a glass. A great change to the normal margaritas or daquiries...although im a red wine drinker...it was recently in the new BOND movie...so i decided to try it out. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Creolo Cocktail

See how to make a refreshing spiced rum-based cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States