Mojito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Muddling is the key to a good Mojito. You should put about 3 or 4 sprigs of mint and 3 lime wedges. You really have to put some muscle behind it because you're trying to extract as many of the natural oils from the lime as possible. I have never had good luck with sugar in these. A simple syrup (1 part sugar, 2 parts water) is the best way to go. Your final drink should be composed of 1/3 rum, 1/3 simple syrup and 1/3 club soda. Using a smaller glass is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Try a better option and easier. Get some cocktails 123 Mojito mixer (key lime concentrate). Mix a inch into a shaker and muddle a few fresh mint leaves. Pour 2 shots Captain Morgan spice rum and club soda and shake. Strain into a highball glass half full of ice. My favorite! My friends now like Mojito's 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Good base (loved the lime/soda/rum ratio) but it needs more mint and more sugar. Otherwise the club soda overwhelms the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I did not like this recipe. I prefer to use 5-6 mint leaves, two wedges of lime and regular sugar (simple syrup is also good), muddle until flavors are blended, add ice, rum, and I like to use sparkling water than soda, not as much salt. Great hot weather drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
You can't beat a mojito for a summertime patio drink - it's crisp, light, and refreshing. I like mine with a whole lime and a 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons sugar or splenda. Splenda tastes just as good and dissolves more easily than sugar. Also try a dash or two of bitters if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I have had the best results by making a mint simple syrup, and using the following recipe: 1 oz mint syrup, 1 oz fresh lime juice, 2 oz rum, fill a highball with ice and top with soda. Muddle a few sprigs of mint before adding the ice--more for presentation--and garnish with a big sprig of mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I suspect that as with any recipe there is some technique that really makes it work. Trying to dissolve sugar in cold water is often difficult , and I would recommend simple syrup , or make your own sugar water to sweeten it , honey would also make a nice replacement adding another interesting flavor, although maybe not traditional. Another tip I learned which some feel is key is to place the mint on the crushed ice and bruise it against the sharp ice crystals to really release the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made a few modifications but overall it was a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This recipe is good in that it is simple. As a bartender I am hyper-critical and I see lots of people over do it on the ingredients. Personally, I use 6 mint leaves to muddle. I think it's the minty flavor that makes this drink so unique and refreshing. If you're getting a bitter flavor, you're mashing the rind of the lime too much. You want to release the juices, but not the oil from the rind. That's where the bitterness comes from. This recipe has the perfect amount of lime if you're juicing it right:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBleu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
It was ok, I liked J Lo's mojitos better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Raspberry Mojito

A refreshing mojito with rum, raspberry vodka, fresh berries, and mint.

The Real Mojito

Make a delicious, refreshing mojito from scratch. Enjoy!

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States