Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is my go to yellow cake recipe. Not too sweet and texture is just right. I make it probably 10 times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made this cake over the weekend for a sunday dinner and it was more than great, I am going to make it again today....Bernadine M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadine Mathis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daytonagirl36
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
My go to cake! Not too sweet, have used for cake pops, fondant covered, fruit and of course frosted. Not being too sweet you are not overloaded when covering with other sweets. Sturdy enough to hold fondant (see pic) but holds its own flavor. I got the "cornmeal" comments also but yet those same people paid me to make this cake for their celebrations! When I made cake pops with melted chocolate I was told it tasted like ice cream. I make as directed, always use cake flour and still sift that a few times. Great foundation cake- sturdy for heavy coverings but delicate enough for a whipped cream topping. OMG try with cool whip, pineapple and vanilla pudding mixed as a frosting. It is out of this world. One last thing- I do parties for work and have never brought any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It is moist and delicious! I think it needs a little salt. I made chocolate fudgey frosting and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
It's in the oven! I halved the recipe for one cake and hope it works out well. The batter was light and airy and the batter curdled but I'm hoping it'll do well! I also added a teaspoon of maple syrup since I didn't have a lot of vanilla essence or enough for this recipe. I'm planning on icing this with a homemade caramel frosting recipe I came across but haven't tried it yet. Hoping for the best, wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This cake wasnt too bad. Had a cornbread consistency. It also came out a little darker then I expected for a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Everybody including me loved it and without icing. There wasn't time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly, and it was great. I might add a half cup more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I'm not sure what the cornmeal reference is with this recipe. I made this last week as cupcakes, and they were the lightest, softest, most amazing yellow cupcakes I have ever made. Topped with a homemade butter cream frosting, these didn't last long in our house at all! I'm actually making this again tonight as a birthday cake for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States