Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
For those of you who don't know, here are some cake baking tips. First of all, flour matters. Please buy cake flour. Then, sift. Don't scoop out a cup and pour into your bowl. Sift your flour into the measuring cup, then level it off. Yes, this takes extra time but it's a HUGE difference. This will give your cake the dense texture you're looking for. Please also cream the butter with the cake flour and the sugar, then pour in your milk/egg mixture. Also, please make sure all your cold ingredients are room temperature (about 65F)that's milk, eggs and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
681 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Fantastic :) yum yum. I was hesitant to make this cake as everyone said it was "cornmeal-y". What are people doing? It was the best yellow cake I've ever made. I used 4 eggs and sifted the flour and used whole milk instead of buttermilk and it turned out fantastic. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I haven't tried the recipe, but in my trial and error with cake recipes I can tell where the "cornbread" reference comes from. Using all-purpose flour in a cake recipe, especially nearly 4 cups, can sometimes yield a heavier and more crumbly texture. Try substituting cake flour, but use only 3 cups, sifted. Eliminate the baking powder and add an extra 1/2 t. vanilla. Since you're reducing the cake flour, also reduce the buttermilk to 2 1/4 cups and sugar to 2 cups and see how this turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is a fabulous cake! I've made it at least 6 dozen times, and it is easy to make, very moist and delicious. I don't understand the reviewers who said it tastes like cornbread. I've never experienced that with this recipe, so I can only assume they've done something wrong. This recipe is a classic, and is one I depend on when I want something that will impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I guess It's my fault for being in a hurry and not reading the preamble but if you pay close attention to the directions the say "Grease A 9x13 Pan" not two! A in my book means 1. Also it says "Pour Prepared Batter in prepared pan" not pans (plural) I admit I am real new to baking and probably should have guessed from the serving size and large amounts of ingredients that I should have used 2 pans but again I was in a hurry. Waiting to take out of the oven to see just how bad it'll be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I made this cake for my family, and they absolutely loved it! I was also a little puzzled about the cornbread remarks. I wonder if it is because a lot of people are used to yellow cakes made from box cake mixes? So, what they're commenting on isn't so much the taste, as the texture? Yellow cakes made from scratch don't usually have the fluffy, soft texture that box mixes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Darlington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This cake has a cornbread consistency because of the combination of baking soda and buttermilk. For those who want to try again (or are trying for the first time), use milk instead of buttermilk and all baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
Yum, yum, yum! I am so glad I decided not to go with boxed mix - this recipe blows Betty Crocker out of the water! Tastes fresh and home made, very lush and so incredibly moist. I don't get the cornbread consistency at all - it's very crumbly, buttery and moist (again!) I increased the sugar to 3 1/2 cups to suit my sweet tooth and beat the batter considerably more than just to incorporate flour. I used juice of 1 lemon mixed with only 2 cups of milk instead of buttermilk and baked it considerably longer than stated. Served it with chocolate peanut butter frosting and got only raves. Thanks for the recipe - it's definitely my 'one' yellow cake recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Worked as advertised...a very good cake. I substituted sour milk (a tablespoon of lemon juice mixed with each cup of milk) for buttermilk, and it still worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
If I didnt have to click on a star I definately wouldnt.This is the worst recipe ever.Im a pastry student and needed a cake for class.This cake was not the one to try.Had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States