Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Moist, but tastes like cornbread :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is the best cake batter for a person that decorates cakes... It is delicate and moist... I have added lemon or orange zest to the last flour mixture; to the last buttermilk addition I add lemon or orange, butter and vanilla flavors...this cake is better made with buttermilk in this climate but have subbed with milk and vinegar for buttermilk; it's okay but not the very best product.... Good cake take time with the recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleana Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
It was really good and moist. I will do it again for sure. In between the layers I put some blueberry jam since I did not have enough icing and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
These cupcakes are wonderful. The people that say they are like cornbread must not be mixing them enough. I have a Kitchenaid, which I think makes a difference to start with but I decided to follow the steps of the reviewer Mind W who left a review on Jan 7, 2003. She had a different way of making them and I followed her exactly and they are fluffy and incredibly light! I would also say, use Baker's Sugar by C & H that is fine and I used unsalted butter too. So much better than a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
LOVED IT! I made it with AP flour. I didn't have buttermilk so I made my own by adding vinegar to whole milk. I always brush my cakes with a sugar syrup before I decorate and did the same for this cake. Got great feedback....everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday last night, and it was moist and delicious, just as promised! I didn't have 2 9x13 pans so I baked it in an 11x15 for about 38 minutes. This made for a thick, delicious cake. I topped it with buttercream frosting. Yum! This will replace my yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taylorfamilyinc
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made a dozen cupcakes that my kids did enjoy once I filled the valley with frosting....so PICK ONE....use only one - baking powder OR baking soda - and then add salt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
The texture of the cake was very crumbly, and the flavor lacking. It reminded me more of a cornbread than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I tried this for my cousin's 15th birthday. It tasted like cornbread with frosting. NOT A GOOD COMBINATION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
'Looks like cornbread. :? Very moist. Maybe 1 more egg would lighten it a little. 'Not heavy, but heavier than most cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States