Moist Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Natasha
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
They were very moist. We made mini cupcakes for valetine. My 3 year old son had a blast decorating them. Instead of vanilla we used strawberry. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This recipe was fantastic. Very moist and delicious. I had to make some changes to make it wheat and dairy free but overall great recipe. To make it wheat and dairy free I used Bobs Red Mill Gluten free All Purpose Flour instead of regular flour. I had to add 1.5 teaspoons of Xanthum Gum to the flour mixture (not really sure why but it says it on the flour package). To make the buttermilk I used a little less rice milk with 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. Margarine instead of butter. I also used Sugar in the Raw instead of white sugar (just because I try to not use white sugar). It turned out great! People loved it and no one realized it was wheat free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aishamo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe is great. Thank you. I was looking for a cake recipe that did not call for cake flour; something I could make with what many of us already have in our cupboards. I used regular flour and sifted it three times. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used the 1TBLS + 3/4 tsp of vinegar to the 2 1/2C regular milk and let it sit for 10 minutes. I brought all of my refrigerated ingredients to room temperature. I made cupcakes for my son's birthday and they were great! Very moist, good texture. Tasted better than the box. It is not as sweet and I actually like that because it's a good treat without tons of sugar for the kids. If I were to make it again for adults, I would probably do as one baker suggested and add extra sugar. But, this recipe is great. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Use cake flour. I get very annoyed with people who rate recipes without first following them as written. I have made this numerous times using all purpose flour and got rave reviews. I made it last night and decided to try cake flour and it turned out that much better! The texture was a little lighter and tasted like it was purchased from a bakery. I used the quantity of flour listed plus 7 tablespoons extra (per the instructions on that cake flour box). If you only have all purpose flour, I would still highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
There are two kinds of cake textures, fluffy and light (like a box cake), or dense and heavy (like a pound cake). This cake is one that has a dense texture (if you follow the recipe exactly). I make a lot of cakes and in my experience I have found that cakes using buttermilk and baking SODA has a more dense texture,(cornbread texture, not cornbread taste) and cakes using whole or 2% milk and baking POWDER are more fluffier in texture. May I suggest when making a cake that you keep this in mind. It all comes down to YOU! and your preference of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
No problems with this being like cornmeal, as some of the reviewers had said. I did find it a bit too sweet, though. If I use this recipe again I will decrease the sugar to about 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
this cake is a great cake i was scared to make it at first cause of the corn bread jokes but i use whole milk and room temperature ingredients and its good u can overpower the cornbread taste if u use a hershey chocolate icing made from stratch this cake is wonderful i will bake it again and again!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This is the best yellow cake I've ever made. Not much more trouble than using a cake mix and tastes a whole lot better. I used self rising flour and added just a pinch of salt and this was a lot easier and took away the possibility of being able to taste the baking powder in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Wasn't the best tasting cake. Will continue my search for a good tasting yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Moist, buttery, just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States