Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
A much easier way to combine the ingredients (especially great if you lack a hand mixer) is to cream the butter and sugar; stir in the milk, eggs, and vanilla; then stir in the dry ingredients, sifted together. Smells like Thanksgiving and goes GREAT with a dollop of COLD, whipped cream! I baked mine in a bundt pan: about 75 minutes at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was almost like the one my mother made in the 1950's. She simmered 1/2 c. raisens until they were plump, drained the liquid and added them to the recipe. I tried that trick and now I have Mothers recipe. Thanks. Sometimes she would frost with caramel icing, sometimes cream cheese icing or sometimes just lay a paper doiley on top and sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is without a doubt the best spice cake I've ever made. The spices used are perfect and no one spice overwhelms anything else. It is moist and absolutely delicious. I bake mine in a stoneware fluted pan just because it looks pretty so I have to adjust cooking times~ 50 minutes in the oven and it is done perfectly. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made the "Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site to top it with. That frosting complements this cake perfectly. I double the frosting because you do get quite a large cake and just because it tastes divine! Thank you. *EDIT* I forgot to add that I've seen quite a few complaints about mixing this recipe. What I do with ALL my cakes is keep the wet and dry ingredients separate. For this cake, I beat the butter and sugar until fluffy, added the rest of the wet ingredients one at a time while slowly beating to blend. In another bowl I sifted all the dry ingredients together then added them slowly to the wet bowl and mixed it together by hand with a wooden spoon. Never fails! I give it 4 stars because I did have to make these changes and I'm sure that new cooks don't know that keeping the wet and dry separate for a cake is crucial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Extremely moist. Big hit with my family-we ate it while decorating our tree! Baked it in a bunt pan and sifted powdered sugar over the top and it turned out lovely. Very old-fashion-Christmas looking. It is important to follow the directions exactly or else you won't get the moist, fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made a rich caramel sauce to spoon over this and the final product is absolutely wonderful!!! The only thing missings is a really good quality french vanilla ice cream and a rich cup of freshly brewed coffee. I added a cup of raisins that I had soaked in hot water and I also followed a more traditional cake technique of creaming the sugar with the butter (or margarine... which I used), and then adding the eggs and vanilla. I added the combined dry ingredients to the sugar/margarine, and then stirred in my milk and raisins. Absolutely perfect!! A definite keeper of a recipe and one well worth serving to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
First of all, I want to say that the flavor of the spices was wonderful -- absolutely the best combination and amounts I've ever tasted in a spice cake. I only gave this 3 stars though due to the method and the fact that I felt it lacked some things, such as raisins and nuts. I read through the entire recipe and was shocked at the instructions on how to put it together. I stuck with my "tried and true" method where I mixed the all dry ingredients together first, then I creamed the butter and sugar, added the eggs one at a time mixing well after each, added the vanilla and then added the dry ingredients varying with the milk -- dry/milk/dry/milk/dry. I also plumped 1/4 cup golden raisins and 1/4 cup regular raisins and toasted 3/4 cup chopped walnuts and stirred that in after mixing everything else. I served this as the Grooms' cake for my sons wedding today and it was a big hit. Very moist, but still held together. I recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent spice cake, but stick to the "normal" method of mixing the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made this but trying to get away from white flour i used all wheat.My bad it made it to dry and very dense. The flavor was there and good but i should have used white wheat flour not just whole wheat will try again with diff flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayer, Arizona, USA
Living In: Camp Verde, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Although this was the first cake I'd ever tried to make, I found the instructions very easy to follow and had no problems during baking. I've served it on two seperate occasions and it's always been devoured very, very quickly. I definitrly recommend it to first-time bakers, or anyone with a love of spice cake in general. Try adding 1/2 cup of applesauce to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I had absolutely no problem with this recipe; the cake turned out fantastic. It was SO moist and SO flavorful. Awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
It was very good. The steps were a bit complicated but I followed them exactly and the batter was perfect. I made this for a Breakfast Cake. Next time I think I will make Muffins in my cupcake maker. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States