Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This wasn't as moist as I would have liked, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was almost like the one my mother made in the 1950's. She simmered 1/2 c. raisens until they were plump, drained the liquid and added them to the recipe. I tried that trick and now I have Mothers recipe. Thanks. Sometimes she would frost with caramel icing, sometimes cream cheese icing or sometimes just lay a paper doiley on top and sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Extremely moist. Big hit with my family-we ate it while decorating our tree! Baked it in a bunt pan and sifted powdered sugar over the top and it turned out lovely. Very old-fashion-Christmas looking. It is important to follow the directions exactly or else you won't get the moist, fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I think I might have overmixed this cake but the day I made it the cake was a little dry, but good flavor. I kept it covered and had another piece 2 days later and it didn't keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Really great tasting, but it was SOOO crumbly (Not neccesarily in a good way :( But it tasted so good, it still deserves 4 stars *LoL* I used 4 or 5 tsps of Pumpkin Pie spice instead of all the individual spices. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Could have been a bit more moist, but the flavor was definitely there. My daughter made two layers, filled with whole berry cranberry sauce, frosted with a cream cheese icing and topped with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Like other reviews I've read here I too thought it was a little dry. Even though it had a lot of flavor I will continue looking for that perfect spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I had absolutely no problem with this recipe; the cake turned out fantastic. It was SO moist and SO flavorful. Awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Let me start by saying that I am not a great Baker, however I made this cake for my kids and they loved it. My oldest took one to school and all the kids loved it. I put buttercream icing on it and it was definitely a hit with everyone.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robtam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Echo, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made this for a birthday and was not happy with it at all. The cake batter was so thick that it burnt out my mixer--it was like pizza dough. The cake was very dry. The taste was okay, but not enough to make it again. It definitely needed icing. TOO DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States