Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This wasn't as moist as I would have liked, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This was almost like the one my mother made in the 1950's. She simmered 1/2 c. raisens until they were plump, drained the liquid and added them to the recipe. I tried that trick and now I have Mothers recipe. Thanks. Sometimes she would frost with caramel icing, sometimes cream cheese icing or sometimes just lay a paper doiley on top and sprinkle with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Extremely moist. Big hit with my family-we ate it while decorating our tree! Baked it in a bunt pan and sifted powdered sugar over the top and it turned out lovely. Very old-fashion-Christmas looking. It is important to follow the directions exactly or else you won't get the moist, fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I think I might have overmixed this cake but the day I made it the cake was a little dry, but good flavor. I kept it covered and had another piece 2 days later and it didn't keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Really great tasting, but it was SOOO crumbly (Not neccesarily in a good way :( But it tasted so good, it still deserves 4 stars *LoL* I used 4 or 5 tsps of Pumpkin Pie spice instead of all the individual spices. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Could have been a bit more moist, but the flavor was definitely there. My daughter made two layers, filled with whole berry cranberry sauce, frosted with a cream cheese icing and topped with toasted coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Like other reviews I've read here I too thought it was a little dry. Even though it had a lot of flavor I will continue looking for that perfect spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I had absolutely no problem with this recipe; the cake turned out fantastic. It was SO moist and SO flavorful. Awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Let me start by saying that I am not a great Baker, however I made this cake for my kids and they loved it. My oldest took one to school and all the kids loved it. I put buttercream icing on it and it was definitely a hit with everyone.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robtam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Echo, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I made this for a birthday and was not happy with it at all. The cake batter was so thick that it burnt out my mixer--it was like pizza dough. The cake was very dry. The taste was okay, but not enough to make it again. It definitely needed icing. TOO DRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States