Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Amberger
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Very tasty, traditional style spice cake. It isn't super sweet, so keep that in mind. I made a 4 layer cake with this and cream cheese frosting, and everyone raved about it. I also made cupcakes (made almost 3 dozen) and they were very good as well. The only thing I don't like about this cake is the mixing method... even with my rad kitchen aid, it had lots of flour and brown sugar lumps both times. Next time I will use the creaming method and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberger

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I used a bundt cake pan, followed the recipe exactly, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaina Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
this cake was so yummy and moist. I drizzled the caramel icing over it: caramel-frosting-i and it was a huge hit at my 11 year old's birthday party. I used 1 cup wheat flour and the rest all purpose and it was still very moist and yummy. That was the only substitute I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
DELICIOUS! This cake recipe definitely deserves the 5 stars. It came out perfectly and has gotten rave reviews at my house. It was not too difficult to make, though be careful if using a hand mixer. The batter was so thick at one point that I had almost all of the batter wrapped around the mixer. But once all of the liquids were added in, the batter became very light and fluffy. It is great as is, but if you like spice, I think this could stand to have a bit more added. Goes very well with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have never been successful in baking a moist homemade cake until this recipe! It was SO GOOD!! Unbelievably easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was a great spice cake recipe! I made it for my father for fathers day, & also made a cream cheese frosting to drizzle over it. I used a bundt cake pan, & baked it on 350 for about 55 minutes, until the toothpick came out clean. It baked beautifully. Everyone loved it. Next time, I will add an extra half a cup of sugar, to make it sweeter. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isisangeles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Has a good flavor. Too many steps. Why add brown sugar at the end? I tried to minimize the brown sugar lumps before adding, but after the cake was baked, there were small caramel bits inside. Not moist just a regular cake tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had an hour and a half to bake a wedding cake, and I was out of white flour, brown sugar, butter an milk. I used mochi flour and spelt, white sugar and molasses, ghee and coconut oil, and hazelnut milk. The result was a fluffy yummy moist gingery cake. I made an icing of walnut-butter, hazelnut milk and powdered sugar so I could stick coconut flakes to the top and make it look wedding-ish. It was so beautiful and delicious that the bride and groom asked me to make it again when they throw a reception party (hopefully with more than a couple hours notice). Long story short: here's a basic cake that can stand up to a lot of fooling around and still save the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the flavor is wonderful. Unfortunately the cake is not moist and if tender means it crumbles and falls apart when you cut it then it is very tender =( Sorry to say but I am still on the search for a great spice cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I've just made this cake for the first time. The flavour is good, hence the four stars. However, I have had trouble with the baking time. After being in the oven (fan assisted) for 40mins at the recommended temperature, the cake was still uncooked in the middle, so I put it back in the oven for increments of 5mins, testing after each additional 5mins. After an hour and ten minutes the cake was cooked through to the middle but had a crunchy, overcooked layer round the outside. I baked it in a 1kg silicone loaf tin and I'm wondering if this created too great a depth of cake mixture to cook in the 40mins given in the recipe. Perhaps I should have used two sandwich tins instead of the loaf pan. Can anyone advise me? Has anyone had a similar experience? I don't want to give up on this recipe as I think it's a good one and my husband loves spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guildford, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States