Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I'm giving this four stars because of the response it got, and because it was probably amazing straight out of the oven. I used it for a sculpted cake (for a friend who loves "fall flavors") and had to leave it in the fridge overnight so I could make and roll out the fondant. Everyone who tried it raved, but I found it to be a bit dry and too dense for my taste. BUT I'm my own worst critic so I'm sure it was actually pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amberger
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Very tasty, traditional style spice cake. It isn't super sweet, so keep that in mind. I made a 4 layer cake with this and cream cheese frosting, and everyone raved about it. I also made cupcakes (made almost 3 dozen) and they were very good as well. The only thing I don't like about this cake is the mixing method... even with my rad kitchen aid, it had lots of flour and brown sugar lumps both times. Next time I will use the creaming method and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberger

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I used a bundt cake pan, followed the recipe exactly, came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaina Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
this cake was so yummy and moist. I drizzled the caramel icing over it: caramel-frosting-i and it was a huge hit at my 11 year old's birthday party. I used 1 cup wheat flour and the rest all purpose and it was still very moist and yummy. That was the only substitute I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
DELICIOUS! This cake recipe definitely deserves the 5 stars. It came out perfectly and has gotten rave reviews at my house. It was not too difficult to make, though be careful if using a hand mixer. The batter was so thick at one point that I had almost all of the batter wrapped around the mixer. But once all of the liquids were added in, the batter became very light and fluffy. It is great as is, but if you like spice, I think this could stand to have a bit more added. Goes very well with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I have never been successful in baking a moist homemade cake until this recipe! It was SO GOOD!! Unbelievably easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was a great spice cake recipe! I made it for my father for fathers day, & also made a cream cheese frosting to drizzle over it. I used a bundt cake pan, & baked it on 350 for about 55 minutes, until the toothpick came out clean. It baked beautifully. Everyone loved it. Next time, I will add an extra half a cup of sugar, to make it sweeter. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by isisangeles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Has a good flavor. Too many steps. Why add brown sugar at the end? I tried to minimize the brown sugar lumps before adding, but after the cake was baked, there were small caramel bits inside. Not moist just a regular cake tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I had an hour and a half to bake a wedding cake, and I was out of white flour, brown sugar, butter an milk. I used mochi flour and spelt, white sugar and molasses, ghee and coconut oil, and hazelnut milk. The result was a fluffy yummy moist gingery cake. I made an icing of walnut-butter, hazelnut milk and powdered sugar so I could stick coconut flakes to the top and make it look wedding-ish. It was so beautiful and delicious that the bride and groom asked me to make it again when they throw a reception party (hopefully with more than a couple hours notice). Long story short: here's a basic cake that can stand up to a lot of fooling around and still save the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the flavor is wonderful. Unfortunately the cake is not moist and if tender means it crumbles and falls apart when you cut it then it is very tender =( Sorry to say but I am still on the search for a great spice cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States