Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This cake is amazing, and so moist. I added pumpkin spice pudding, and a cream cheese w/ walnut spread as filling and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this cake (using a few tablesppons of applesauce, like others recommended) and when cake was done, and I put it on the cooling rack, it fell apart! the flavor was good but it was too moist and I was so disappointed that it fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This is the best spice cake that I have every tried. I did use the other suggestions and used 1/2 cup applesauce. I creamed the applesause, the butter and the sugar all together then sifted all the dry ingredients together. I used the suggestion to add the eggs to the milk and then added the dry to the creamed mixture alternating with the milk mixture. Very easy! The cake was moist and flavorful. I served it with fresh whipped cream and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I decided to use this recipe after much searching for a decent spice cake recipe with what I had in house. I followed the recipe as written. Although the flavors are great, the spices work wonderfully, none too overpowering, my cake was not as moist as I had hoped. I too had the issue that a few mentioned, the thick dough clogging my mixers. I used the method described in the recipe as apposed to the traditional method in the hopes that this would prevent and over mixed cake. However once all the ingredients were in, it did pour fine. This one needs some tweaking, I'm thinking the 1/2 c. of applesauce that one mentioned would do the trick. Till then I'm still on the hunt for that "just right" spice cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama_jama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The taste on this cake is very good, different. It was however very dry and it crumbled and cracked on the cooling rack. I wasn't able to use this for my sons birthday and had to make another cake. The quest is still on for the perfect spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was a near disaster for me. For starters, the batter was so thick and dough-like that my mixer stopped working. I couldn't even get the dark brown sugar worked in. I added an extra egg and some more milk than called for because otherwise the dough would've been a rock. Once I added the milk and egg it turned into the consistency of regular cake batter. The cake turned out good, but it could've used just a little more spice flavor. I probably should've added more spice after adding the additional egg and milk. The consistency was also not as moist as I had hoped. I would give the flavor of the cake 3.5/5 (good) but I took away a star for the prep. I followed the directions perfectly, so I"m still not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this cake, exactly as written, and had trouble with the batter when mixing. I recommend adding the wet ingredients a bit sooner/faster - otherwise, the batter is too thick and will clog your mixer. I also had to cook a little longer - about 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made a mistake and didn't read this recipe right. I ended up creaming the butter and sugar together, and then alternating the milk mixture and the dry mixture while mixing with my hand mixer. The batter was so light and fluffy. It's in the oven now but I know it's going to turn out great!! I made this in oder to make a pumpkin trifle later in the week. I can't wait to see how it comes out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Five star recipe, excellent cake and I took Samantha Li's advice as creaming the butter and sugar then adding the eggs with milk and then I folded the dry ingredients. I also used the advice of adding 1/2 cup of apple sauce, excellent I do that to a lot of my cakes and I used Margarine instead of butter. Was a great cake, one of the best, better than store bought and really is simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Excellent spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States