Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
The flavor is perfect, but the consistency is not. My cake broke into pieces when trying to remove it from the greased and floured pan - it stuck to the bottom anyway. I tried to slice it out of the pan and got some slices but mostly crumbles. Don't know how I'm going to frost it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
It was very dry and tasted like plaster. I am a frequent baker and followed the recipe exactly. I was very disapointed in the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Extremely moist! Omitted the ground ginger & didn't notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is the first time I've baked a cake from scratch... so I'm probably easily impressed by how well this came out ;) I did find the cake to be a bit dry, but not too much so - however, I did make a change by using 2 9-inch round cake pans instead of 1 9x13 inch pan as directed. Tried to adjust my baking time a little bit, but probably was just a bit off in doing so. Everything else was fantastic - spices, amounts, the ability of the cake to stand up to my novice handling for the 2-layer assembly, and even the method of combining the ingredients was clear enough for me to follow. I would definitely recommend an electric mixer for that part - and while it may just be inexperience, I'd call the stage before the brown sugar addition more 'granular' than 'pebble-like', as I never saw anything that looked like well-structured little stones. Batter consistency was thick but pourable in a 75-F degree kitchen. I frosted & assembled a 2-layer cake using "Cream Cheese Frosting II" from this site, which took a little work to get reasonably even on the sides, but came out fine & tasted fanastic :D Will make again!! - maybe using a more 'standard' ingredient mixing approach as discussed elsewhere in the reviews for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Mixing the butter with the dry ingredients, instead of creaming the butter and sugar together and adding the other wet ingredients, creates a finer crumbed, more tender cake. This kind of a cake can support a heavy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hope, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
followed this to a T......dryest cake I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cake is great! even my picky brother in law liked it! It took a couple of seconds to get used to the strong spices, but after that, it was delicious. next time i might try adding just a little bit less of some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
First of all, I want to say that the flavor of the spices was wonderful -- absolutely the best combination and amounts I've ever tasted in a spice cake. I only gave this 3 stars though due to the method and the fact that I felt it lacked some things, such as raisins and nuts. I read through the entire recipe and was shocked at the instructions on how to put it together. I stuck with my "tried and true" method where I mixed the all dry ingredients together first, then I creamed the butter and sugar, added the eggs one at a time mixing well after each, added the vanilla and then added the dry ingredients varying with the milk -- dry/milk/dry/milk/dry. I also plumped 1/4 cup golden raisins and 1/4 cup regular raisins and toasted 3/4 cup chopped walnuts and stirred that in after mixing everything else. I served this as the Grooms' cake for my sons wedding today and it was a big hit. Very moist, but still held together. I recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent spice cake, but stick to the "normal" method of mixing the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made cupcakes with this recipe and they were good, although next time I will use less nutmeg. All I could think about was eggnog when eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This tastes great but a couple of things. It has a very strong ginger flavor. I added a caramel icing that helped cut it a bit, but just know when you make it that ginger is the main taste here. Also, I tried making this into cupcakes; that was a mistake. They were a bit crunchy on top and didn't hold together inside - they tasted amazing but I think the cake itself was too moist to hold together as a cupcake. I didn't rate down for it because it wasn't holding itself out as a cupcake recipe - just wanted to mention it for anyone else who might be thinking cupcake for this one. I'm going to make it again as a proper cake, but am planning to make it sort of a poke cake with caramel running through it with a light coating of chocolate on top - can't wait! Thanks for this recipe - I'm looking forward to playing with it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States