Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I creamed the butter and sugar together then mixed in 1/3 of dry, sifted ingredients with 1/2 wet ingredients, then 1/3 dry, 1/2 wet and 1/3 dry - worked perfectly! I picked that tip from Anna Olsen tv show 'Sugar' on Food Network. Delicious cake, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Work_it_girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashington, Northumberland, England, U.K.
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
The flavor is perfect, but the consistency is not. My cake broke into pieces when trying to remove it from the greased and floured pan - it stuck to the bottom anyway. I tried to slice it out of the pan and got some slices but mostly crumbles. Don't know how I'm going to frost it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
It was very dry and tasted like plaster. I am a frequent baker and followed the recipe exactly. I was very disapointed in the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Extremely moist! Omitted the ground ginger & didn't notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is the first time I've baked a cake from scratch... so I'm probably easily impressed by how well this came out ;) I did find the cake to be a bit dry, but not too much so - however, I did make a change by using 2 9-inch round cake pans instead of 1 9x13 inch pan as directed. Tried to adjust my baking time a little bit, but probably was just a bit off in doing so. Everything else was fantastic - spices, amounts, the ability of the cake to stand up to my novice handling for the 2-layer assembly, and even the method of combining the ingredients was clear enough for me to follow. I would definitely recommend an electric mixer for that part - and while it may just be inexperience, I'd call the stage before the brown sugar addition more 'granular' than 'pebble-like', as I never saw anything that looked like well-structured little stones. Batter consistency was thick but pourable in a 75-F degree kitchen. I frosted & assembled a 2-layer cake using "Cream Cheese Frosting II" from this site, which took a little work to get reasonably even on the sides, but came out fine & tasted fanastic :D Will make again!! - maybe using a more 'standard' ingredient mixing approach as discussed elsewhere in the reviews for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Mixing the butter with the dry ingredients, instead of creaming the butter and sugar together and adding the other wet ingredients, creates a finer crumbed, more tender cake. This kind of a cake can support a heavy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hope, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
followed this to a T......dryest cake I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This cake is great! even my picky brother in law liked it! It took a couple of seconds to get used to the strong spices, but after that, it was delicious. next time i might try adding just a little bit less of some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
First of all, I want to say that the flavor of the spices was wonderful -- absolutely the best combination and amounts I've ever tasted in a spice cake. I only gave this 3 stars though due to the method and the fact that I felt it lacked some things, such as raisins and nuts. I read through the entire recipe and was shocked at the instructions on how to put it together. I stuck with my "tried and true" method where I mixed the all dry ingredients together first, then I creamed the butter and sugar, added the eggs one at a time mixing well after each, added the vanilla and then added the dry ingredients varying with the milk -- dry/milk/dry/milk/dry. I also plumped 1/4 cup golden raisins and 1/4 cup regular raisins and toasted 3/4 cup chopped walnuts and stirred that in after mixing everything else. I served this as the Grooms' cake for my sons wedding today and it was a big hit. Very moist, but still held together. I recommend it to anyone looking for an excellent spice cake, but stick to the "normal" method of mixing the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made cupcakes with this recipe and they were good, although next time I will use less nutmeg. All I could think about was eggnog when eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States