Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This cake came out flat and barely spiced, disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gizo101
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very delicious and moist cake. I like the fact that it's plain so you could touch it up if you want. The way of mixing the ingredients is strange but it works and it makes lovely results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizo101

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This spice cake is delicious & moist! Yeah the method is unconventional so I ignored it & used the traditional cake method. But that's no reason to down rate the recipe, especially if you know ahead of time that you're just going to make it your way & not the way that's stated. I can't speak for others, but when I search for a recipe it is because I wish to find a combination of ingredients & the amount of those ingredients so I can make something that tastes good. I made this as listed for a 2 layer birthday cake for someone who requested a spice cake, as it is her favorite. She loved it so I was happy. Plus, I loved it too when I had a piece. The only thing I would do different next time is use less ginger but that's b/c I'm not crazy about ginger. And next time is tomorrow when I make this for a birthday cake for my sister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I ended up throwing out the entire cake. I am an intermediate level baker- so I did cream the butter and sugar together with the egg mixture but the cake was so dry, I was not able to get it out of the pan in one piece. The spice combination was quite lovely but the batter mixture is very dense and the final product tastes more like flour than the spices. I used a 9x13- there is way too much batter for just one 9x13. If I were to make this cake again (which I probably will not) I would reduce the flour by 1/2 cup and use a bundt pan for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I added the applesauce and kept the dry/wet ingredients separate until the end, as recommended in the reviews, and the cake was moist and not crumbly. HOWEVER, I did expect more of a light and fluffy spice cake, which is not what this is. The cake must have weighed 5 lbs when it was done! It is a dense, dense, dense cake, and the heaviness of it takes away from any flavor. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Awesome recipe! didn't made any changes at all. Tasty, fluffy yummy cake, my daughter used it for a baptism cake....we all went speechless. Thanks for the recipe!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was a GREAT recipe! After reading the ingredients (especially noting the amount of cornstarch) and a few of the reviews complaining that this was a dry cake I added an extra 1/4 - 1/3C of milk. I made cupcakes, I baked them for 21 minutes and they were SO GOOD! I filled them with caramel and topped them with cream cheese frosting and a little bit of brown sugar. everyone went nuts for these - i will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this exactly as directed and it turned out great! I would definitely add nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Yes, the instructions are unusual! Despite making 100s of cakes in the past, I followed the strange recipe. Should have just gone with my gut and creamed the wet ingredients and butter and slowly add in the wet. The taste of the cake was just okay. It didn't taste very moist. I cooked the cake in 2 nine inch pans for 29 mins. I wont make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This cake turned out super moist and delicious..the spices come together perfectly. I added chopped almonds and 1/2 c of oats and a caramel glaze on top, definite crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States