Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This cake got rave reviews from all of our dinner guests - used the exact recipe amounts as stated but followed a more traditional method for combining them. I baked for 45 minutes in a bundt pan and it turned out perfectly! A delicious thin crunchy crust and very soft in the middle. Loved the spice combination! I served it dusted with powdered sugar and topped with fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
what is all spice or 5 spice. Can someone share the recipe mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Henry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was such a hit at a barbeque picnic I went to a couple of weeks ago. My friends could not stop reacting in ecstasy! LOL! Many said it was the best cake they've ever had. I was extremely impressed as well. I did tweak it a bit; I added a 1/2 cup of applesauce like some commenters did, and used the traditional creaming method for cakes. I also added some cardamom; I have a huge jar of it and need to use it! I also used Earth Balance spread instead of butter(me and a friend have issues with dairy).I frosted it with a maple buttercream, also using Earth Balance and real maple syrup, and sprinkled it with chopped pecans. YUM! In fact a couple of friends demanded I make it for Thanksgiving. 'Oh twist my arm".....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Michael Shea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this cake as cupcakes and it turned out great! My differences: doubled cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg; did not use ginger or cloves. I used the usual creaming method when mixing. They came out nice and moist and held together really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer McMorrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Not so moist. I made this twice as I thought I must have messed up the first time. Both times the batter was very thick and did not pour into the pan..it was close to cookie dough not cake batter. Tasted good but very dry and crumbly. Maybe the wet to dry ratios.need.adjusting. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This turned out to be one of the worst cakes I've ever made. It was too easy to over-beat the batter, which caused it to not rise. And adding in the brown sugar last led to pockets where the sugar stuck together and created brown sugar craters. I wasn't crazy about the flavor, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Please add applesauce and make it two eggs instead of three! The original recipe is very DRY!!! The taste is amazing and goes very well with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
There is one problem with this cake....its the corn starch....I have no idea what the purpose of corn starch serves...this is why the cake turns out so dry..I omitted the corn starch..I also used 1/2 cup of butter and a 1/2 cup of oil... I used 2 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda.. And of course mix all the wet ingredients but not the milk, then the dry ingredients.... alternating adding the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients with the milk..with these changes this cake is a 5 star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Smells in my kitchen are amazing. I used organic in bleached flour It's taking at least 15 min more to bake But by the look and smell my family will be raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Really good spice cake. I baked it in a bundt pan and drizzled lemon confectioners icing on it for my brother's BD. I also followed my usual cake mixing steps; less complicated and less dishes than the way recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States