Moist, Tender Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I'm sure the way it's put together had a lot to do with it, but this turned out to be one of the worst cakes I've ever made. It was too easy to over-beat the batter, which caused it to not rise. And adding in the brown sugar last led to pockets where the sugar stuck together and created brown sugar craters. I wasn't crazy about the flavor, either. Do yourself a favor, if you make this recipe, read the reviews and mix it like everyone else says - cream the butter and sugar, add the eggs, then alternate with the dry ingredients and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lowkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Please add applesauce and make it two eggs instead of three! The original recipe is very DRY!!! The taste is amazing and goes very well with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
There is one problem with this cake....its the corn starch....I have no idea what the purpose of corn starch serves...this is why the cake turns out so dry..I omitted the corn starch..I also used 1/2 cup of butter and a 1/2 cup of oil... I used 2 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of baking soda.. And of course mix all the wet ingredients but not the milk, then the dry ingredients.... alternating adding the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients with the milk..with these changes this cake is a 5 star!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Smells in my kitchen are amazing. I used organic in bleached flour It's taking at least 15 min more to bake But by the look and smell my family will be raving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Really good spice cake. I baked it in a bundt pan and drizzled lemon confectioners icing on it for my brother's BD. I also followed my usual cake mixing steps; less complicated and less dishes than the way recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I would cut down on the ginger and the nutmeg if I were to make this again. It was just too strong of a spice flavor for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is great even better with nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Anything but moist The combination of spices in this cake was good but nut not up to the level needed for pronounced spice flavors and aromas. When making a 'spice' cake, we don't want to think timid. We want bold flavors. So this recipe fell short in the flavor category. Secondly, although we followed the recipe to the letter, the cake did not come out moist. If we were to try this again, we would replace the butter with vegetable oil to try improving the inherent moisture level. As one other reviewed pointed out, the method for combining the ingredients was contrary to most traditional 'cream the butter and sugar' as the foundation for mixing additional ingredients. Not sure if the mixing method the author proposed contributed to the lack of moisture or if that is attributed to using butter as the only fat in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was very good, and very easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I think the flavor and the moistness were quite good, but I did add 3c shredded apples. I made this recipe after studying for several hours- so I was more than a little lazy. I mixed the wet and dry ingredients per instructions, beat in the butter til it was barely mixed, and then dumped in all wet ingredients at once. When that was barely mixed I added all the apples and sugar. noms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States