Moist, Tender Spice Cake: Gingerbread Variation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
We love gingerbread with a full and spicy flavor. This certainly is both of those. The only thing I changed was to add a 1/2 cup of applesauce to the batter. It smoothed the spices a bit and made it even more moist. I served it with a Kentucky Bourbon reduction (hard sauce) and it was fantastic. The kids loved theirs with Cool Whip. We'll definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Loved this with a light vanilla cream sauce. I replaced 1/4 cup of molasses with 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is fabulous! I split the batter into two bread pans and baked for 45 minutes. Light and fluffy without skimping on flavor. I will definitely make it again. Next time I will use a larger measuring cup to mix the wet ingredients...I had an overflow situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I thought this recipe was just ok. It has a slightly strange taste to me and I think it has to do with the spices. I think I should have used less ginger and added some cloves and nutmeg. I made the cake in two loaf pans and baked them for 50 minutes. They didn't rise very much and once I cut into the cake, it dried out very quickly. I frosted the cake with cream cheese frosting and that really improved it. Next time I make gingerbread, I will probably try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as stated with the exception of using light brown sugar rather than dark (because that's all I had). The cake was dry and tasteless. I doubled checked my ingredients to be sure because of all the marveleous reviews the recipe had gotten. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Great with cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Moist and delicious. Hubby, who almost never eats cake, took a bite and ended up cutting himself a nice big slice. Made cream cheese frosting which complimented the cake very nicely. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I baked it in the alternate method of two 8x8 pans. I frosted one with cream cheese frosting and left the other plain. I substituted whole wheat flour for white flour and brown sugar Splenda for the sugar. So moist, spicy and delicious!! A real hit with the whole family! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I loved this and it recieved great reviews from family anf friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was wonderful - I offered it as a second dessert for thanksgiving with whipped cream and a little orange sauce as optional toppings. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States