Moist, Tender Spice Cake: Gingerbread Variation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as stated with the exception of using light brown sugar rather than dark (because that's all I had). The cake was dry and tasteless. I doubled checked my ingredients to be sure because of all the marveleous reviews the recipe had gotten. I don't think I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very good in loaf pans, the recipe made two and I had to up the bake time to about 50 minutes. Didn't have any allspice so I used pumpkin pie spice in equal measure plus a sprinkle of ground clove. Delicious uniced for breakfast or frosted with cream cheese icing for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This gingerbread spice cake was wonderful! I didn't make any changes to the recipe, and followed it to a "T". It came out tender and moist, not crumbly or dry. The flavor was perfect. After cooling it completely, I served it with a lemon sauce. My family raved about it, and everyone wanted seconds. Thanks for a delicious recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was wonderful! I am not a huge gingerbread fan, but this was delicious. I just finished it with a dusting of confectioners' sugar. It would be delicious served ala mode with vanilla ice cream, or a dollop of whipped cream. We are vegans so I had to "veganize" it and it still came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bixer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
My family loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I really did not care for the flavor of this cake. It did not taste like spice cake to me. I had intended to bring it to a ladie's function for the desert and I was glad I tried it ahead of time. I wanted it to be fabulous but it was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I made this for my fiance's luncheon for work. I used a 10 inch bundt pan instead of a 9x13 inch flat. I increased the cook time to 60 minutes to compensate for the change. This went over fairly well with her workmates. I gave it a 4 because she usually comes home with recipe requests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was wonderful - I offered it as a second dessert for thanksgiving with whipped cream and a little orange sauce as optional toppings. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Loved this with a light vanilla cream sauce. I replaced 1/4 cup of molasses with 1/4 cup of applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Loved this recipe! My hubby loves gingerbread, and he loved this! Thank you for sharing this recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States