Moist Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Delicious cake - very moist and not too sweet. The only change I make is to prepare only half the filling and fill the middle of the cake only. This makes it easier to remove the baked cake from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was fantastic. I served it at a small coffee party with a few friends. It was a hit, with several asking for the recipe. I added the blueberries like someone had suggested. Loved it and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the4taals
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
My batter was a bit thick so I added some milk to make it spreadable. For the filling I used 3 tbsps brown sugar, 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsps flour, small handful of chopped pecans and mini chocolate chips, I didn't put it on the top just in the middle of the cake and it was perfect, 60 minutes was spot on in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is a delicious, moist coffee cake...the best I have ever eaten. The only thing I did different was to bake it in a 9 x 13 dish because I did not have time to wait an hour for the tube pan cake to bake. The batter is a little scant when using this size dish, but it sure gives you a lot of the cinnamon, sugar, and pecans. I baked it about 25 minutes. It is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Yummy cake, as written. A definite repeat recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have been making this SOO much lately and i made some changes :) to make it have less calories i used greek plain yogurt instead of sour cream and raisins instead of pecans and i dont eat sugar so i used splenda and for the raisin mixture i used splenda brown sugar and it caramelized PERFECTLY :) but still sooo moist and SOOOOOOO good :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ri2
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Moist - Check. Delicious - Check. Melt-In-Your-Mouth- Check. Foolproof - Check!! I halved this recipe as I had only 1 egg on hand, and boy do I regret it. This is so awesomely heavenly, that it's the best coffee cake I've made in quite awhile! I made one change - I used walnuts instead of pecans (coz that's what I had on hand). Also, I added about a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to the dry ingredients before adding into the sugar mixture (personal preference). AND, coz I'd read the problems others had had with burning / getting the cake safely out of the pan with the nut mixture intact, I made a change in my layering. I poured half my batter into the tin, topped it with all of the nut mixture and then poured the remaining batter over it to cover. Magnificent! AND with an element of surprise too! =) P.S: Next time, I will probably cut the sugar to 1 cup and perhaps even cut back on the butter just a wee bit. Note: The cut backs are with reference to the original recipe and not to by halved version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This was not as moist as I was expecting. I will continue to look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENROBBINS
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Great coffee cake! Loved it! The only thing I changed was the filling. The recipe stated to start with the filling first. Then, add some batter then the filling and then end with batter. I didn't do this and I am glad I didn't. I put all the filling in the center. I can see where the filling would stick to the pan if you did it as the recipe stated. Also, word of warning. I used a budt pan. When I put the batter in the pan, I was concerned that the cake was going to be very small because it appeared there wasn't enough batter. Do not fret! This was more than enough and it was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENROBBINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Love this! Very moist. I added 1 teaspoon almond extract & 1 teaspoon cinnamon to the cake and it is delightful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States