Moist Lemon Poppy Seed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This recipe has a good base, but could use some tweaking. I made this once following the exact directions and I ended up with a difficult to mix batter and a burnt cake. I would cream the butter, eggs and sugar together first. Add some lemon juice to the batter. Also, ditch the syrup topping, it's too bitter. And please, if you're making this, don't bake it for and hour and 15 minutes. I baked mine for 55 minutes and it was still too long. Sorry for all the negativity, but I gotta be honest! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was the driest cake I have even tasted. I thought there was something strange about this recipe when I filled the pan with the batter---it was too thick and I thought it needed more "moisture" (ie. milk, oil etc.)---five eggs? I definitely would't recommend this "moist" lemon poppy seed cake to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
The directions aren't quite right for this cake. See "Delicious Moist Poppy Seed Cake" on this site for the same recipe but with complete directions. Looks to be by the same person too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is the BEST cake I have had for a long time. I absolutely luv orange poppyseed cake, one of my fave's, but only because store bought versions are never lemon!! (why is this?) I went by the recipe simply because I do not bake very often and have never attempted a cake like this. I had to go and buy a loaf tin! I shared with family and friends and everyone agreed it is scrummy!! I will definitely make it again. The only thing I will do differently is make holes in the middle of the cake bigger for more syrup to get in. The lemony syrup seeped into sides and the top/bottom of cake fine, but the middle missed out a tad. I kept some of this cake in the freezer too and cut and ate it straight away. Tried toasting a piece as suggested too - also delicious. As you can tell, this cake completely won me over!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hill, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I find this recipe to be a tad bland. I've followed the recipe exactly and I understand folks have many different types of palates, but this one just didn't hit it for me. I like the idea very much, though, since I've always liked lemon poppy seed bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaubrent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
i may have baked this cake too long-- 40 mins in a bundt pan-- but it was incredibly dry and not really that flavourful. (i had even added some almond extract). i ended up turning the cake over and reglazing the bottom with more lemon syrup so it was palatable. very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I am not a fan of lemon cake, but made this for a friend, this was the best lemon poppy seed cake I have ever eaten. It was moist, delicious, awesome. The friend I made it for and I thought it was perfect, but some other ppl who tried it thought it was too lemony, so you could cut the top glaze to 1/2 sugar and lemon juice. Overall it was GREAT.... will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I altered the recipe for cupcakes. Made a little bit more syrup and they were amazing! They were moist and perfect, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I gave this recipe one star because this is not the cake I thought it was. I was expecting more apparantly. I thought it was dense and dry. I was hoping for a moist rich lemon cake and it was absolutey not that! If you are looking for a cake do not try this as it was more like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This cake is really delicious and lemony - we're actually using a version of it as a wedding cake! Some modifications I used to make this a really pretty cake: double the lemon zest, don't use the syrup at all, but instead make an icing from confectioners sugar, lemon juice and milk (I used soy milk) and pour it on the cooled cake. Then you can sprinkle flower petals on it for a beautiful Easter or wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States