Moist Holiday Honeycake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I thought this recipe looked familiar. This is Marcy Goldman's "Majestic and Moist New Yesr's Honey Cake" recipe out of her cookbook, A Treasury of Jewish Holiday Baking. The only variation is nutmeg instead of allspice, canola oil instead of vegetable oil, and the sliced or slivered almonds on top. None the less the very best Honey cake ever. I've been making it for years for holiday's and all year round and would never think of using a different recipe. Two notes, almonds are sprinkled on top prior to baking and you should let it cool in the pan for about 15 - 20 min and then invert onto a wire rack to cool completely before placing it on a serving platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this cake on Rosh Hashanah. I put the batter into two loaf pans instead of the fluted tube pan. We all loved it. My husband took the second cake to work the next day and they loved it also. I have since made 2 more (one for my daughter's youth group and for her choir group). I followed the recipe except for the cloves (I didn't have it on hand), so I used allspice. Thank you for this recipe. It's the best honey cake recipe I have tried. Very most and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This bread was a hit at my daughters birthday party! The only thing I omitted was the whiskey because no one in my family drinks:) But its was wonderful! Even my mother in law who complains about everything liked it. I'll definitely be making it again for family occasions! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celestialmegan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Putnam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Dee-Lish!! Everyone loved this cake. Very moist and fragrant. Easy to make. I made the following small adjustments: 3/4 cup honey, 1/2 cup molasses; omitted whiskey; reduced sugar to 3/4 C white sugar; 1/2 C brown sugar. In my oven it was done in 50 minutes. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This is a lovely cake. I didn't have any orange juice at home so had to use pineapple instead and still taste great! As I'm in Australia i also substituted the all purpose flour baking powder/soda and salt for Self raising flour. I iced mine with a lemon glaze. Really nice different flavour. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanna
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Wonderful! I made this cake exactly as directed. It was easy and came out of the bundt pan beautifully. I only wish there was a glaze that went with it - I wasn't sure what would go best so I didn't glaze it. Everyone at work loved it and I got to tell them about what Rosh Hashanah is all about! Thanks for a wonderful recipe - will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amybobamy
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Hi folks -- Just a comment on my recipe: The whiskey is strictly OPTIONAL! Hope you enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amybobamy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This cake is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. It is so moist and flavorful and even better the next day. Will definitely make again. I don't think it needs icing but a nice dollop of whipped cream would be divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
oh it was wonderful loved every last bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Wow! Followed recipe exactly and the cake is amazingly moist. It took an hour in my oven, but I did lower the temp a tiny bit since my oven generally quicks quickly. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States