Moist Holiday Honeycake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this honey cake tonight exactly like the directions except for the whiskey it was delicious. I saved some batter and made 3 cupcakes so I could taste it before I served it to company. Honey cake is not my favorite but we serve this for the Jewish Holidays I am very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My daughter asked for honey cake for her birthday (she's only 4) and I thought I better try it out before we do one for the party. I think it was simple to put together and smelled good. This was the first recipe I found that actually had honey in it, which was key for me. I don't know if I did something wrong or not, but while baking it spilled out the top of my bundt pan and dumped into the bottom of my oven. It smelled terrible, but I was able to salvage most of it. Part of it also got stuck in my pan, so it didn't have the prettiest of presentations. The final result was very moist and had a "christmas" flavor to me. It was good, but I probably won't be making it for her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this and did not enjoy the taste at all. It was quite moist, as advertised. Maybe it's just not my kind of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made this cake almost as the recipe called for, omitting the whiskey, and the result was exactly as the recipe described: moist and yummy. Thanks for sharing. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
oh it was wonderful loved every last bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I've made this cake to bring with me to friend’s house for Rosh-Hashanah celebration; almost exactly as per recipe substituting whiskey with golden rum (I didn't have a whiskey on hand). The cake was moist and absolutely delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vasilek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Very tasty recipe we enjoyed it a lot.Love it very much.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxmar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
this cake is easy to make, moist, delicious - we cannot stop eating it! i personally don't even like honey cake, so we used a little less cloves and nutmeg, and the cake is a showstopper. we finished it in one sitting. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena Levine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Wow! Followed recipe exactly and the cake is amazingly moist. It took an hour in my oven, but I did lower the temp a tiny bit since my oven generally quicks quickly. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great cake, both in taste and texture (it's like a spice cake). I find, however, that only 1/4 C each of white and brown sugar is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States