Moist Holiday Honeycake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a lovely moist cake however I found it too sweet. Next time I will adjust the white sugar to just 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Probably the best Honeycake recipe I have tried, it didn't last long :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lanaray
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Moist and delicious, as promised! It was gobbled up! I did cut down the white sugar to 1 cup, and I used amaretto instead of whiskey. It added a yummy almond flavour that came trough nicely. This one will be a favourite for the new year for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This honey cake is totally yum. I especially like it because it is not light and spongy with lots of air like some other honey cakes I've tried; it is denser and more satisfying. I used a high quality bourbon and strong coffee. I baked it in a bundt and cooled for 20 minutes and the cake didn't come out easily. Part of it stuck to the pan and I ended up with only 2/3 of the cake on the plate so I am going to serve it sliced. Next time I will wait until the cake is completely cool (it will shrink away from the sides) and/or dust some flour in the pan to avoid sticking. Definitely let it cool longer than 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this honey cake tonight exactly like the directions except for the whiskey it was delicious. I saved some batter and made 3 cupcakes so I could taste it before I served it to company. Honey cake is not my favorite but we serve this for the Jewish Holidays I am very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
My daughter asked for honey cake for her birthday (she's only 4) and I thought I better try it out before we do one for the party. I think it was simple to put together and smelled good. This was the first recipe I found that actually had honey in it, which was key for me. I don't know if I did something wrong or not, but while baking it spilled out the top of my bundt pan and dumped into the bottom of my oven. It smelled terrible, but I was able to salvage most of it. Part of it also got stuck in my pan, so it didn't have the prettiest of presentations. The final result was very moist and had a "christmas" flavor to me. It was good, but I probably won't be making it for her birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this and did not enjoy the taste at all. It was quite moist, as advertised. Maybe it's just not my kind of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made this cake almost as the recipe called for, omitting the whiskey, and the result was exactly as the recipe described: moist and yummy. Thanks for sharing. What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
oh it was wonderful loved every last bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda hathaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I've made this cake to bring with me to friend’s house for Rosh-Hashanah celebration; almost exactly as per recipe substituting whiskey with golden rum (I didn't have a whiskey on hand). The cake was moist and absolutely delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vasilek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States