Moist German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Moist and flavorful. I added 1/2 t baking powder and used Dr. Pepper. Will make again for my dad who loved GCC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe was terrible! I did everything that the recipe asked, and it turned out really bad. The cake was the same texture of a brownie, but almost thicker than that. The frosting that was paired with it was good, and that's why I gave it one star. I made this for my brothers b-day, and everyone hated it! How sad is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mackay, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
sorry to say it was not that good, yes it was moist but even a bit too filling, we had trouble finishing it. I had put more chocolate but even with this is ended up so so !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fanfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
this cake almost made me pass out by the deliciousness of this cake.I screamed on the first bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. He loved it!!! It was very moist and rich tasting. I followed the recipe exactly, but I like the idea of substituting the buttermilk for half sour cream/half skim milk - i hate buying a quart of buttermilk for only a half cup's worth. I'm thinking I might substitute vanilla yogurt for the plain, simply because I can tolerate eating the leftover yogurt a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe was a disaster. The first time I tried it, I followed it exactly. I did everything exactly as instructed. I allowed the cake to cool completely. It fell apart and had no taste. Yes, it was moist, but it was so moist that it stuck to the top of my mouth and was incredibly difficult to eat. But I still was willing to give the recipe a chance. I thought with some changes I could make it have some flavor. No amount of changes will make this recipe good. I have made three cakes based on this recipe, all of which are inedible. I am very good at baking. Almost everything I make turns out well. This recipe seems like it should be good, but it is, in fact, the worst recipe I have tried on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckumz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The coca cola flavor in this cake just wasn't my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This cake was very moist and delicious. I made a few changes as suggested by other reviewers. I added 1/2 teaspoon each of baking powder and salt. I also used Dr. Pepper instead of cola. I topped and filled it with Coconut Pecan Frosting I by Marsha. I frosted the sides with a rich chocolate buttercream. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
WOW this turned out amazing!! I'm just a 20 year old college student who has never baked a cake in her life, and we had a Sunday dinner with a group of friends and it was SUCH a hit! Everyone had like 3 pieces they liked it so much! However, I didn't use german chocolate, i used semi-sweet and used like 6 oz. And since I had no buttermilk I did half a portion of sour cream and skim milk instead. Will def make again, and if I can do this pretty much anyone can! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This wasn't as moist as I expected, but it was a good cake. I increased the german chocolate to 6 ounces. I did not have round cake pans, so I baked in a 9 x 13 square pan and crossed my fingers. The cake was done perfectly at the recommended time! ** I need to update this two days later - after the cake came out of the oven, I frosted it 24 hours later. It was good then. I had some the next day (48 hours on the clock) and it was FANTASTIC. Do try to make this cake 2 days ahead if possible, it becomes more moist with time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States