Moist Garlic Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Declared delicious by my whole family! Prepared it according to the recipe but then cooked in a slow cooker for 1 hour on HIGH and 7 hours on LOW. I put in a little chicken broth to cover the bottom. Served with "Mexican Rice III" from this site, but without cilantro & cumin and with peas and corn added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe. I baked it in a roasting bag and also chopped the garlic and thyme, added it to butter, and rubbed down the chicken with it. The juices in the bottom of the bag make an excellent gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I made this recipe almost exactly as called for with a couple small exceptions. I substituted freash basil for thyme because it is what I had, and I added a bit of olive oil to the stuff I rubbed all over it to disperse the basil and garlic and make it all stick well. I also added some salt to the outside skin. It turned out beautifuly moist and I think many variations on stuffing and spices would be possible. The parchment paper makes it stay moist but you will also notice that it doesn't brown attractively. This didn't bother us since we don't eat the skin anyway, but browing/braising it for 20-30 mins opened at the end would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I used a combination of 2 recipies from this site. This one, and "Juicy Roast Chicken" It turned out great! I generously seasoned the outside, and cavity with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I didn't have the thyme, so I just left that out. Next time, I will probably use rosemary though. I loved the addition of lemon. The flavour was really mild, yet there just enough. All in all, wonderful dinner. Thank you for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Simple, elegant, and delicious. I'm terrible at preparing meat, and everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was the most moist chicken I have ever cooked! The family loved it. I added celery, and green onion to the sliced garlic and lemon in the inside of the chicken, and placed some garlic and onion under the skin as well. Salt, pepper, and a little Tony Chachere's seasoned the outside as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This chicken was absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe "to a T", and it was perfect. And my husband even said that it made the best gravy he had ever tasted. So what are you waiting for? Go buy some parchment paper! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
WOW! Great recipe! Definitely roasting it in a parchment bag works! Enough steam escapes from the fibers so that you aren't "steaming" it (like in an oven bag), but roasting it. I chunked up some potatoes, carrots, and onions and roasted them in the bag w/ the chicken. I also put a little crunched up aluminum foil under the bottom of the bird as a make-shift rack so the juices would settle on the pan. I added fresh rosemary to the thyme, and stuffed the bird with lemon wedges onion, and the fresh herbs. Topping it with the lemon slices is a great way for it to self baste. It is incredibly moist and flavorful. I used the juices to make a quick gravy. Drain the bird and pour off the pan juices. I added 1/2 cup water b/c I see it was very lemony. I added fresh rosemary, no salt was needed. Heated it up on med-low, added cornstarch (cornstarch mixed with a little water), and stirred til thick. It was a skoosh over-lemony, so I added a small pat of butter to cut the flavor. That did the trick! And yes - the skin looks gross b/c it's not browned...but I don't eat the skin anyway...so it was fine by me. Be sure to let the chicken sit at least 15 minutes before slicing into else the juices won't run back into the meat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very moist, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Easy, delicious, fantastic leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States