Moist Garlic Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I didn't use any thyme and I used bottled chopped garlic. I didn't taste it, but my husband said it was tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was the most moist chicken I have ever cooked! The family loved it. I added celery, and green onion to the sliced garlic and lemon in the inside of the chicken, and placed some garlic and onion under the skin as well. Salt, pepper, and a little Tony Chachere's seasoned the outside as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This chicken was absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe "to a T", and it was perfect. And my husband even said that it made the best gravy he had ever tasted. So what are you waiting for? Go buy some parchment paper! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Very moist, and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
WOW! Great recipe! Definitely roasting it in a parchment bag works! Enough steam escapes from the fibers so that you aren't "steaming" it (like in an oven bag), but roasting it. I chunked up some potatoes, carrots, and onions and roasted them in the bag w/ the chicken. I also put a little crunched up aluminum foil under the bottom of the bird as a make-shift rack so the juices would settle on the pan. I added fresh rosemary to the thyme, and stuffed the bird with lemon wedges onion, and the fresh herbs. Topping it with the lemon slices is a great way for it to self baste. It is incredibly moist and flavorful. I used the juices to make a quick gravy. Drain the bird and pour off the pan juices. I added 1/2 cup water b/c I see it was very lemony. I added fresh rosemary, no salt was needed. Heated it up on med-low, added cornstarch (cornstarch mixed with a little water), and stirred til thick. It was a skoosh over-lemony, so I added a small pat of butter to cut the flavor. That did the trick! And yes - the skin looks gross b/c it's not browned...but I don't eat the skin anyway...so it was fine by me. Be sure to let the chicken sit at least 15 minutes before slicing into else the juices won't run back into the meat. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Simple, elegant, and delicious. I'm terrible at preparing meat, and everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was a good, simple recipe. Instead of slicing the garlic I used a paring knife to poke holes in the breast and inserted the whole garlic cloves right in. There was a nice garlic flavor throughout the chicken. I took another reviewer's suggestion and opened up the parchment paper during the last 30 minutes so the chicken could brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This was very good. However, next time I would open the parchment paper for the last 20 to 30 minutes of cooking time to brown the chicken. Although the chicken tasted great it looked almost uncooked as it was not brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I made this recipe almost exactly as called for with a couple small exceptions. I substituted freash basil for thyme because it is what I had, and I added a bit of olive oil to the stuff I rubbed all over it to disperse the basil and garlic and make it all stick well. I also added some salt to the outside skin. It turned out beautifuly moist and I think many variations on stuffing and spices would be possible. The parchment paper makes it stay moist but you will also notice that it doesn't brown attractively. This didn't bother us since we don't eat the skin anyway, but browing/braising it for 20-30 mins opened at the end would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I used a combination of 2 recipies from this site. This one, and "Juicy Roast Chicken" It turned out great! I generously seasoned the outside, and cavity with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I didn't have the thyme, so I just left that out. Next time, I will probably use rosemary though. I loved the addition of lemon. The flavour was really mild, yet there just enough. All in all, wonderful dinner. Thank you for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States