Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
It was so easy to make/bake, and my date nut bread came out so delicious and moist. Not too sweet, and it feels so comforting to eat this bread. Will definitely make more in the future for self or to give to others. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Very good!! It WAS moist! I made muffins instead of the loaves. I added some raisins as well and it turned out great! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was my first try at date nut bread. I thoroughly read many many reviews. The overall consensus was cut back on the sugar which I did, but I really wish I didn't. Will follow the recipe exactly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
DELISH! I varied it a bit...I used 1 c whole wheat flour 1/2 cup reg flour This was very sweet so next time I would use maybe 1/4c of sugar. I also toasted the walnuts first, definitely a must! I also didn't have brown sugar so I used white, still yummy! I only cooked it for 45mins on 350 b/c I like it a bit undercooked and it was PERFECT!! I topped my bread w/a mixture of milk and honey (maybe 2 TBS of honey and a tiny splash of milk) and it made the top nice and shiny and moist looking! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Wasn't sure if I liked dates or not, obviously I don't, and neither does anyone in my family of 8. I'm rating 3 because, I suppose, if you love dates, you could possibly like this bread. I wouldn't know because we couldn't get past the "weird" taste that the entire family kept asking about. Oh well, I smothered my slice w/strawberry jam and that made it edible enough for me, however the rest of my family wasn't too pleased, not matter what selection of jams I gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made this for my dad because he remembered having date bread as a child. It was wonderful and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Definitely best thing I've ever baked which my husband agrees, though I was quite shocked after devouring in 2 pieces how high calories they are. I only used half the sugar and it's sweet enough. Will bake again to impress visitors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I had some date in my closet that needed to be used so I thought why not try this recipe. What a great choice it turned out to be. While I did modify the recipe somewhat, the core stands true. I ran out of dates, and as one reader suggeted I used 1-1/2 c. dates and 1 c. chopped prunes. I also used the orange idea another reviewer suggested. I reduced the sugar to 1/3 c. and after I toasted my raw walnuts in the oven I broke them apart with my hands, instead of chopping them b/c I like to taste my walnuts. The other thing different I did was to use all whole wheat flour and add 1 tablespoon vital wheat gluten (you can purchase this at a natural foods store). In my baking class I learned that whole wheat flour has very little gluten (the protein in flour) and by adding in the vital wheat gluten (which is almost all protein) it adds lightness to baked goods. This is exactly what it did to my loaves. I will do this again b/c IMO whole wheat is better than white or unbleached flours. I also used three mini pans and baked them for only 30 minutes and they were done. I really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very, very good. I made this for my husband to take to work, and he said everyone devoured it. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States