Moist Date Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this for my dad, at his request. I followed the recipe exactly and he loved it. I did have to continue baking it a bit longer...about 10 minutes. I am not particularly a fan of dates but I really did enjoy this bread. It was moist and delicious, not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This recipe is delish as written! It got rave reviews by company visiting us for a week. The first time I made this recipe I decided to make it according to a reviewer stated... 1/2 the salt and a 1/3 of a cup of borwn sugar. Blechhhh It had no flavor. I don't add salt to my food nor am I a big sweet eater so it sounded fine. I assure you it totally lacked flavor. The 2nd time I made it I went with another reviewer's recommendation of using an extra scoop of flour and flax seeds. That was the worst! Not a quicker I gave it another go. This time making it exactly as the recipe was written. It came out delicious. My husband who is not at all a sweet eater loves it and has asked me to make it again. What I love so much about this recipe is it doesn't have tons of flour or sugar to subtract from the date nuts and walnuts. Yum! Give it a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was good, but not exactly the taste that I expected. Very moist and a good recipe, but not my favorite quick-bread. My husband and son loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roselyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I tried this and it was great. However, from the picture I was afraid it would be too moist. I added an extra scoop of flour and also some flax seed to make it healthier. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
The reason I like this recipe is because it's mostly dates--not a ton of flour and sugar to hide their flavor. I used half whole wheat flour with nice results and found the light sweetness perfect, especially if you plan to serve with jam. It can easily stand alone with no topping, but truly is great with cream cheese or butter. I did use coffee in place of water and like the rich color and very subtle flavor it imparts to this loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a very good bread. Not to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I would actually give this 4.5 stars; made it exactly as the recipe read first go-round - it was too salty (and I thought 1 t salt for this amount seemed like a lot). I cut the salt in half and used 1/3 C brown sugar, and it was fabulous the 2nd time around. Also, you can double this recipe and bake in a 13x9 pan - it makes a giant coffee cake. I served it at my B&B this past weekend to rave reviews. It remains moist for 4+ days if well covered and set in a cool spot. It was a favorite of the male guests and several asked to take pieces home with them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
It was so easy to make/bake, and my date nut bread came out so delicious and moist. Not too sweet, and it feels so comforting to eat this bread. Will definitely make more in the future for self or to give to others. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Very good!! It WAS moist! I made muffins instead of the loaves. I added some raisins as well and it turned out great! Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was my first try at date nut bread. I thoroughly read many many reviews. The overall consensus was cut back on the sugar which I did, but I really wish I didn't. Will follow the recipe exactly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States