Moist Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa J. Sponcel
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Yum. I substituted orange juice instead of milk and also yogurt instead of sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa J. Sponcel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Like it claims, this is very moist. Yum! Used frozen cranberries which works fine. The way the ingredients are combined per direction s is a bit different from the average quick bread, but I followed directions with no problems. I did lightly dice my mandarin oranges. Note that I used my largest loaf pan and there was too much batter for it. It was right to top and was fearful it would poof and go all over my oven. So I ladeled out some and put in a prepared small loaf pan. My cooking time for both was longer than stated, so just keep an eye on it. Tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This bread is delicious! It certainly took longer to cook than the recipe stated though. Mine was in for well over an hour. I didn't like how the recipe called for this to be mixed together. My batter turned out lumpy after mixing melted butter with dry ingredients. Next time I will combine ingredients in a manner I am more familiar with. Overall this bread was awesome. I will be preparing it for a church function next month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My family loves quick breads and this recipe was a huge hit. I had many bags of cranberries in the freezer and used one of them in this recipe. I just added the 2 cups to the batter in the frozen state. I baked them in four (6 x 3 1/2) small loaf pans rather than one big pan. This loaf is moist and packed with flavor. I found that this is a very good loaf to freeze and it thaws nicely. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Eventhough I have my favorite cranberry bread recipe, I tried this one. 'Never used orange extract before & trying to get fruit in the children, I went for it. :) 1 3/4c sugar seemed like a lot of sugar - more like the amount for a cake, or two loaves. Yes, I admit it, I reduced it to one cup. I stopped myself from other changes except for oven temperature. Oh, I didn't do the fruit & sugar topping thing. Oh, & I only had a cup & a half cranberries. Hey, it's all I had that were useable! :D Oh, yikes :D, I changed the directions: Creamed the butter & sugar, added the eggs. Combined the milk & sour cream (which I think could be subbed for buttermilk it would seem). Added the extracts to the milk mixture then added that to the combined dry ingredients. Folded in the berries & oranges. 9x5 loaf pan, 350 the whole time, an hour ten. Sum up: Not as good as my regular cranberry loaf by carol. This one is a little dense & moist enough. A cup of sugar was fine. If I were to play with it, I'd probably increase liquid/fat & add another egg or baking soda/powder. It makes a big loaf. There aren't really enough oranges or cranberries (yes, I had half cup less). 'Should't be as fruity as fritcake, but more could be used for sure - at least in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very moist and flavorful bread! Although I did sub yogurt for sour cream I don't think it altered texture or flavor too much. Also, this is the first cranberry bread recipe with the berries scattered on top with sugar sprinkle and that really made it taste over the top! Thinking I'll toss other c'berry bread recs and stick to this one, so thanks for the post zeta724
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this bread for Thanksgiving, and it was so good it didn't even make it through the day! Bursting with fresh flavor and super easy to make. Now I have to brave the store for a second batch of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Moist, flavourful used fresh oranges not mandarin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States